Five months later…and about my friends

I started a blog around Thanksgiving last year, but I never managed to post it so did I really start it? Hmmm? I’m not sure. The post I wrote at that point revolved around an encounter I had with a couple of very different people that I met in my daily travels. I am pretty sure I was trying to relay some sort of story about gratitude since the Thanksgiving holiday was on the horizon, but when I sat down and read it after the fact I thought it sounded stupid and conceited. Even my girlfriend sort of hinted at the fact that it was “good but maybe a little overbearing” (her very polite way of telling me that I might be sounding like a tool). Since that point I have continued to go about my daily business. I go to work. I eat and sleep. I have gone to therapy every week. I’ve practiced yoga and I have swam.  I have had good days and bad days. And (as it relates to this topic) I have continued to try and journal and/or write an entry for my “not blog”.

I was talking to one of my best friends yesterday and listening to him re-count his story of holding a moonshine tasting on the top floor of a parking garage in West Palm Beach with Vanilla Ice as the musical performer and I told him he should start a blog because the story of his ordinary life is truly worth sharing, Furthermore he tell the stories so well (better than I could ever hope to) that he would have a wide range of readers in a short time. Well that conversation made me think yet again about the WordPress account I set up five months ago I logged in to consider my options. Maybe I should listen to my own advice and tell some stories about an ordinary life and see what happens. Maybe I’ll post without telling anybody I know. Maybe I’ll write and never post. I guess we’ll see…

I am coming off a really nice weekend with friends. I am realizing that I am so lucky to have so many people that I have the blessing of calling friends. I have very few friends that I have had since my youth. I have some family members (like my Mom) that I consider friends. I have a life partner that is a great friend. I have friends in my Chicago hometown. I have friends in my Michigan hometown. I have friends that I work with and friends that I used to work with. I have friends that I take yoga classes with and I have friends that take yoga classes from me. I have friends that I own a business with and I have friends that our students at my business. I have friends that I used to train with and I have friends that still train. I have friends that I could visit in better than half of the states in the U.S. and I have friends that I have yet to meet in the other half. I have friends that are customers at the restaurant I work at and friends at other restaurants that I go to. I have friends that I never see and I have friends that I see regularly. I have online friends that I have never met in person and I have online friends that I have met and haven’t seen for many years. I have lost friends and I have made new friends. I have friends that I lost as a product of my divorce and I have friends that I have made as a direct result of my divorce. I have friends that have stepped up and saved me and I have friends that I have stepped up and saved. In a nutshell, I have friends, and I am oh so grateful to all of them. I didn’t used to think that I had that many friends and that made me sad. In the last couple of years I have come to the realization that the friends I didn’t have were a product of my lack of effort to make the time to cultivate the relationships. That makes me especially grateful to those who made the efforts on their end to make me their friend. I hope to spend the rest of my days doing a better job of reciprocating.

More later…

jim

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five months later…and about my friends

  1. soivis says:

    You don’t sound like a tool. A utensil, maybe. But, never a tool.

    ; )

    H

Leave a Reply

