And then I realized it had only been 48 hours

I often wonder why I push myself to the point of the outside limits sometimes. Okay so I “wonder” some of the times and I “do it” pretty much all of the times. Even on vacation. And now I’m rubbing off on my girlfriend and she’s doing it to. Mind you that this is not a 10 days on the beach with all your meals planned trip. It’s a see everything you can in no where near enough time trip, and I knew that going in, but today I sort of hit the proverbial wall.

I am going to do this stream of conscious exercise partially so I can remembers all this stuff, and also so I can think, “What the hell is wrong with you dude,” let go a little bit more in the next few days, and move on to my next therapy session armed with information. Not kidding…

Arrive in Paris 11:00 am local time Saturday. Lost coat. Continental desk. Metro to Paris. Apartment location. Wander. Lunch near the Louvre. Jardins Des Tuileries. Champs Elysees. Arc de Triomphe. Shopping. Croque Monsieur at home. Listened to Lions vs. Dallas game live on internet after being awake 30 hours straight. Strange!

Wake up Monday. Explore. Tour Eiffel. Not just a tourist trap I say. Climb. Drink Champagne. Terrible lunch at a place near Orsay. Try to rent bikes. Fail. Walk the neighborhood. Sit on the Seine. Lock our love lock on Pont de Artes bridge. Wander back to the Louvre. Listen to Cellist play under the arch. Photos by pyramid. Walk to the Arc de Triomphe – yep WALK! Oy. Home (notice my 90 square foot apartment is “home”). Terrible dinner at a place that I called the “Berghoff of Paris.” Old bitchy queens in vests serving pre-made food seconds after you order it. Sleep!

Wake up 5 am. Chunnel to London. Arrive Kings Cross. Look for Harry Potter (find him later on double decker bus). Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Globe theater. Thames river cruise. Bus tour of London. Buckingham place. One hour learning difference between Belgrave St. and Belgrave Rd. (where our hotel was actually at). Meal  at “vanilla'” restaurant in awesome neighborhood called Belgravia. Sleep. JK Rowling has house there. No additional Harry Potter sightings. Westminster Cathedral. Westminster Abbey. Harrod’s department store , Trafalgar square. Sherlocke Holmes Pub . Pint (finally) Fish and Chips. Mashie peas.

At this point I turn to CJ and say, “Do you realize that we’ve been in Europe 48 hours?”

WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH US!

Seriously I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Adrenaline carries you pretty far at times and this was one of the most amazing whirlwinds possible. I mean to be at the Eiffel tower and the Tower bridge less than 24 hours apart is an indescribable experience.

Now if I can just learn to relax a little I may come back alive. Lol. A friend of mine who works for Heritage and lived in Paris told me, “You have to let Paris happen to you. You can’t just go out and get it.”

Today let’s try that one on for size…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

