Côte d’Azur #3 – The little white church

Early Tuesday afternoon we arrive at the Medieval Village named Eze. I have been here before on a previous trip to France with my ex-wife. I remembered it was a magical place and wanted to see it with my own eyes again and let CJ see it with hers for the first time. The last time I was here I didn’t do any driving and I can remember very little except that it was special. The thing I remember the most was a little church that I visited that was arguably the most spiritually moving place I have ever been. I can’t even seem to remember the name of it but I think it had the color white in it though.

At the base of the village there is a vendor who sells sea salt, dried herbs and hand milled French soap. We are interested in buying some soaps but I tell CJ that we will do it on the way out. More on that later.

Our day at Eze is magical. We walk the jardins, take photos on the summit, visit the main cathedral (which I’m pretty sure is not the church I’m seeking). We stop and have espresso at Chateau Eza, the hotel built into the village. And then we finally find that little church, Chapelle de la Saint Croix – les Penitents Blanc. In my “memory” there is a white curtain, lots of candles, and lots of strange art. In reality, at this moment it is gated shut.

I have no idea if they allow visitors in the chapel any more. I have none of the same “vibrations” that I seem to remember at first, but then I look more closely through the gate.

Notice the impressionist-style paintings of the religious scenes that are more than a little dark. Also notice the skull and crossbones attached to the crucifixion sculpture on the left side of the altar. This place is a energy vortex beyond belief. Yet I can’t get in.

Part of me is frustrated but another part of me accepts that you can’t always recreate the exact same energy of a moment even if you visit the same place again. My quest to find the little white church again is complete, for now, and I have a picture that goes with the image in my mind again after all these many years. For that I am grateful.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

