Last Tango in Paris

I awake in Paris for one last full day. The weather has been varied as is to be expected on a fall trip to Europe, but more often better than not. Today is spectacular. There is a certain blue in the sky that can only be achieved once in a great while, the same blue that we saw on our first full day when we visited the Eiffel tower. There is a comfort in seeing the first and the last full day under the crystal clear light on a sunny Paris day. It’s uplifting. It seems appropriate. It brings a sense of closure and completes the movement through time in a circle. CJ is dressing. She declares, “I’m quite satisfied with the number of things we have accomplished in two weeks.” Indeed.

Last night we took a stroll on the Champs-Elysees. I use the word stroll specifically because we walked at the most leisurely pace we have managed for the entire trip. We had no giant camera. No tripod. No stack of tourist books. We were just Parisians shopping in the evening. We looked in make-up stores. Clothing stores. Mercedes dealerships. All very much like an evening on the Mag mile back home, and then again not at all.

Up until this point I have basically kept this blog in chronological order. This morning I deviate from that because I simply cannot write all the stories that our left to tell before I actually live in the moment of our last day in Paris. It’s symbolic to me in that it forces me to let go of a form of order that I always try to hang on to or control. I embark on a last day in Paris with no “list”, but just a pair of walking boots and about 12 hours of enjoyment. I’m excited…and relaxed.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

