We Remember #6 – The Burger King

So it’s time to resurrect my blog. I have drifted away with a few at home “distractions” and a bit of a lack of inspiration. I have two short stories about the memorial service that deserve to be told and then I can return to whatever “whimz” move me. In retrospect the “We Remember” series may have been more serious than I would have originally planned, but like everything in life it’s live and learn. Based on my motivation and the number of views, I have learned that I am far more interesting when I am sarcastic, but at times I’ll need to be serious. Life is a wonderful lesson, eh?

The sixth story of my day at the Harbor Light Hospice memorial service came from the most diminutive person in the group, someone who might not have even spoken if the energy had not been so comfortable. She told a story about her Dad and her Aunt Theresa (his sister).  At the end of his days he loved two things more than anything else, his sister and Burger King. For sure it’s an odd combination but in dire times the most unusual things keep you pressing on. One day near the end his sister (Aunt Theresa) had to go out of town for a reunion dinner. Politely the family asked the old man if he would mind if Theresa went away for a few days and he said as long as she brought him Burger King when he got back he would hang on while she was gone. Really? Does anything get more simple and beautiful than waiting for the most basic pleasures in life? A good meal and the company of a loved one is all that mattered at this point, even if the “good meal” was a char grilled fast food cheeseburger. When she returned from her time away she waked in the room with a bag of Whoppers. “Hey Theresa” he said and then he ate and then he faded. A fitting end if I ever heard of one I must say. Hail to the King…

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Remember #6 – The Burger King

  1. garry and linda says:

    That’s a real “whopper” of a tale! But, for my last meal, let me have a Mac Attack.

Leave a Reply

