Sometimes even one letter changes things – DRAMATICALLY!

A personal blog is at times going to be lighthearted and whimsical and at other times a bit more serious and reflective. Clearly I am at my best when I am the former. I mean it’s important that I get a chance to reflect and remember like I did over the last couple of weeks with the “We Remember” series, but if I was looking for a way to change the energy and laugh at myself again, today delivered in epic fashion. I expect my blog views to spike back up to my “pre-morbid” levels after this one. Oy!

Those of you that know me well enough know that I’m pretty much always busy. I’ve tried really hard to let my new “Post France Vacation” energy influence my approach to the day to day, but it’s hard not to be in a hurry at points. This finds me trying to squeeze in phone calls while I’m in the car, sending texts while I’m in the bathroom, and dashing off to the coatroom at Joe’s to respond to emails while I’m on a mini break for example. Since I’ve started this blog I’ve had the benefit of having a great editor/proofreader at my disposal. My girlfriend CJ will sometimes reads my drafts before I even post them and at other times she will edit them after they are already public. It’s a great help. In fact there are other times in my “day to day life” that I wish I had the benefit of her review. It would save me from tripping over my own feet and at times over my own words. Here’s a unique and somewhat remarkable example.

Today I decided that I would be well served if I got a sub for my Wednesday night 7 p.m. yoga sculpt class since I have to prep dinner for 10 people on Thanksgiving. The formula for this is to send a mass text to the group of instructors for Chicago Corepower yoga, a group that includes up to about 150 people. In typical fashion I shot this email off in between breakfast at work and changing into my tuxedo for my shift.  I usually try to be a bit friendly and whimsical in my sub requests so that my fellow instructors get a taste of my sense of humor. This was the email I intended to send.

“Wednesday 11/23/11 Sculpt 7 pm South Loop – Who would love to prep these lovely sculpters for their turkey day meal by kicking their butts this Wednesday night for me? Bueller, Bueller, Bueller…”

Do you like the whimsical Ferris Bueller’s day off reference? I thought it was quite special and funny. Can you guess which letter I missed in my frenzy to send a quick email? Yep, you guessed it! This is how it went out…

“Wednesday 11/23/11 Sculpt 7 pm South Loop – Who would love to prep these lovely sculpters for their turkey day meal by licking their butts this Wednesday night for me? Bueller, Bueller, Bueller…”

Needless to say I have yet to receive any offers on my request. Its a lot to ask for sure! I can only imagine 150 people trying to recall which part of “Ferris Bueller” included “that special moment.” Oy!!! I may have to wind up teaching on Thanksgiving eve, but I will forever have this story to remember in return.

Welcome back to the ridiculousness that is Jimswhimz!

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes even one letter changes things – DRAMATICALLY!

  1. garry and linda says:

    hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

Leave a Reply

