A Quick Holiday Greeting…

I bet there were millions of facebook updates and blog posts and the like in the last 24 hours about food and being grateful. Count me in! I’m not going to get all totally sappy or anything but I’m a pretty happy guy these days and it’s taken some work (and a lot of therapy $$$) to get here so I should at the very least acknowledge it, right?

I had a really great day with some of the people who are closest to me and I finally got to cook the Thanksgiving meal again. It’s been more than a few years since I was in a position to “host” and it’s a big step forward for me (and CJ too) in many ways. I’ll just leave it at that. Wanna see my bird? At this point I could imitate my buddy and post a photo of me flipping off my readers, but I’m trying to grow this little blog so I’ll go with this instead. I had a few people post and ask me how I got the mahogany color. I told them shoe polish. Some of my friends think I’m a smart ass. They’re probably right.

Well anyways, if you are reading this, I’m really grateful for you. I started this little blog about a two months ago inspired by a trip to Paris. I’m happy it’s continued. I’m not sure where it will all lead but I’m so delighted to have a reason to sit down and write everyday or every couple of days. I don’t even really care if it gets read or not (okay I care a little bit I must admit). So many things have changed about the way I celebrate Thanksgiving in the past few years, and then again so much remains the same. I’m grateful for both the things that are so exciting and new and for the things that remain the same (except for the fact that it’s still painful to be a Lions fan). I expect a few humorous anecdotes about the ridiculous of my life to ensue in the near future. I have a lunch at Shaw’s with drinking buddies and a trip to the Big House still on my weekend. Quality potential topics I expect. Until then, I remain, waiting in the whimz….

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

