When does the Christmas season start?

There are a lot of measures of when the Christmas season actually starts. For some it’s the first time they hear a Christmas song on the radio. For others it’s when the first snow comes. For me in the last few years it’s the first night that I fall asleep on the couch watching Chevy Chase in “Christmas Vacation”. This often comes after a night of decorating and wine drinking while my girlfriend is at work. It’s actually become a running joke for us. She said she’ll know it’s Christmas when she comes home and finds me passed out on the couch with “Christmas Vacation” blasting loudly in the background. About two weeks ago I walked in to get my hair cut and heard John Lennon’s “So this is Christmas” on the radio and it started for me. It was pre-Thanksgiving but I felt it a little bit. Then one day at work about ten days ago there was a brief burst of snow showers amidst the rain. But tonight after a very much non holiday dinner of shrimp creole, I popped in the movie that starts it all.  I haven’t even gotten a single box of decorations out of the storage locker, I went through Thanksgiving  dinner at my own house without even remotely feeling like it was turkey day (except for the traditional Lion’s loss) and I’m not even sure we will put up a tree this year. But I decided that after watching “Surviving Christmas” on Saturday, “Home Alone 2” on Sunday and needing to keep a streak alive on Monday it was time to go back to the basics. Ah yes it’s Christmas time. Clark is stapling lights to the roof and Jim is passing out on the couch. Life is good…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When does the Christmas season start?

  1. garry and linda says:

    technically, we are in “advent” right now…….The Christmas season immediately follows Advent. The traditional Twelve Days of Christmas begin with Christmas Eve on the evening of December 24 and continue until the feast of Epiphany. The actual Christmas season continues until the Feast of the Baptism of Christ, which in the present form of the Roman Rite is celebrated on the Sunday after 6 January. In the pre-1970 form, this feast is celebrated on 13 January, unless 13 January is a Sunday, in which case the feast of the Holy Family is celebrated instead.[8] Until the suppression of the Octave of the Epiphany in the 1960 reforms, 13 January was the Octave day of the Epiphany, providing the date for the end of the season.

    Color: White or Gold.

  2. garry and linda says:

    that was the short answer….haha!

Leave a Reply

