I might not be Jimmy Stewart, but…

It’s been a typically busy but generally satisfying December week in Jimland. I finally got back into the yoga classroom everyday this week. Lately I’ve been lucky to get one or two classes in per week so going everyday is a marked improvement. I have a friend in town from overseas that has been a great re-connection. I love it! I got a visit from my Mom during a regular workday and she had lunch at my restaurant which was very special. Yet tonight I’m home watching “Christmas Vacation” for the third time in a week after an early night out with friends, and I’m just not feeling the holiday “schwerve” yet. Not really in a “Bah Humbug” mood but at the very least a “Meh”…

I should probably get over it, but sometimes things just get under your skin more than they should, right?

Have you ever arranged your plans for your weekend off of work solely around an event that completely changes before it happens making you wonder why you arranged those plans in the first place?

Do you ever get behind that person that slows down at a green light in the expectation that it might turn yellow, only to have them speed up at the last minute while leaving you stuck behind the red light?

Do you ever have plans with a friend only to have them change the time, the location and then also invite other people you don’t even know along for the ride leaving you sort of out in the dark?

Do you ever go to the movies wanting to see the awesome new release only to have the couple in front of you buy the last two tickets for your show time while you get stuck watching “Twilight 6: Edward’s weather balloon controversy” 45 minutes later than you wanted to start anything?

Well if you have and that’s the worst thing that has happened to you then I guess you, like me live a pretty charmed life. But it doesn’t suck any less in the moment…

Oh well at least I don’t have cousin Eddie out in the street saying “Merry Christmas…shitter was full!” That being said it’s been a pretty good week and I find myself home tonight at midnight on the couch with a Pat’s thin crust pizza and a glass of cabernet. My girl is wrapping Christmas presents to send to New Zealand for her sister. I’m about to doze off and a Saturday open to mystery and possibility lies ahead. At the end of the day and at the end of the week, I’ll take it everyday and twice on Sunday. I might not be Jimmy Stewart, but it’s a wonderful life. Well it’s time to take the handcuffs off of Mr. Shirley and grab another glass of wine. Good night all. Brighter tomorrow ahead….

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I might not be Jimmy Stewart, but…

  1. garry and linda says:

    “weather balloon controversy”…hahaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Mr. Shirley? pizza sounds good.

    • jimswhimz says:

      Mr. Shirley is Clark’s boss in the movie. The end plot will explain the sentence. If you haven’t seen the movie it’s a must. Thanks for always commenting. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

