Wonder why I love yoga so much?

Here’s a good example of why…

Every week at least a couple of times, somebody asks me why I like yoga so much. Or maybe they ask me what yoga will do for them if they take a class. Or maybe they want to know if they will be less stressed out if they take yoga. Whatever the case may be, there is a great deal of curiosity about what yoga is and what it isn’t, both by people who have never practiced and by those who have.

Tonight I went to class like I normally do on a Monday night. It’s one of my few “free” nights and I love not having to cram my practice into a small window of time between two other “things”. I don’t always go to the same class or even the same place. Tonight I was very pleased with my choice. I took class from the studio director at one of the Corepower locations and the class was nearly perfect. When it was over I felt I wanted for only one little thing, an inversion, so I stayed after and worked in head balance for about five minutes.

After I cleaned up I was sitting in the lobby common area while I was putting on my shoes. A friend of mine named Jeff was sitting on the couch across from me and a woman who was a bit older sat in an armchair next to me. She leaned over and asked me if I had been practicing for a long time. I told her “about 15 years”. She complimented my practice and then went on to tell me that she was new to yoga. She had started with Bikram yoga but got bored with the constant repetition of the same poses. I told her that I had taken Bikram through the years and that while I loved the sequence I too needed variety. We were having a really nice back and forth conversation about practice and other stuff and then at one point she said that she first came to yoga at the recommendation of a friend after her husband died 6 months ago. She told me that when she went to her first class a few months ago, during that 90 minutes it was the first time that she was able to stop thinking about her husband since he had died. And then she went on to say that each time thereafter when she comes to class she feels like the “blanket of sadness” gets a little bit lighter.

That my friends is exactly why I go to the mat again and agian. It’s not for one specific reason, but it’s for moments in time like tonight when you can be reminded of how truly wonderful people can be when the are open to sharing their feelings. And that happens in pretty much every class in one way or another. I asked my new friend Elaine to come to my class some night so we could chat more. How lucky am I?

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wonder why I love yoga so much?

  1. Pingback: My new project ‘Make a new blogger happy every day’. « Vipin's Journals

  2. Vipin says:

    Good to see that you are able to consistently go for the yoga. Doing yoga is still one of my ‘undone plans’. My laziness always gets in the way..:)
    By the way you are the second one in my list – http://vipinjournals.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/my-new-project-make-a-new-blogger-happy-every-day/ 🙂

  3. Thanks for this post. It’s nice to notice how yoga reshapes the body, but it’s even more fascinating to realise how it works on all the “stuff” you cannot see with they eye 🙂

  4. garry and linda says:

    …and let us all say “om”.

    Merry Christmas Jim and Christiana
    love and peace
    I dig the blog

Leave a Reply

