A peek into my fantasy…Fantasy Football that is!

I have spent the last 7 years playing fantasy football. My level of interest has varied through the years but it’s always been a nice side light on Sundays and Mondays. I now am the commissioner of two leagues which is probably more than I would like or need, but that’s just the way it goes. I have a knack for being in charge of pretty much everything I get involved in. Charity funds, NCAA basketball pools, fantasy football leagues, employee committees, student groups, teacher trainings, church picnic boards, dinner plans, wine tastings, you name it and I’m in the mix or in charge. I’m not sure if that means I’m a control freak or a good leader. Probably a little bit of both. I’ll have to check with my therapist.

The thing about fantasy football is that some people treat it like a religion and others like a pass time. That makes the job of the commissioner a bit difficult at times. Every year I wonder why I continue on and every year I do it again anyways. This year I have moderated discussions about unfair trades. I’ve defended myself for being on a golf course on a football Sunday. I’ve been criticized for not putting up league manager notes while I was in France for three weeks with my girlfriend and I’ve been accused of being a lazy player because I fell asleep one Tuesday night after a 16 hour day instead of picking up the hot running back on waivers while another team got him instead. Great fun, eh?

Well actually it kind of is fun. I don’t know why it’s still fun , but I complain while I endure the wave rides each year. I occasionally lash out at stupidity on my mighty and powerful league manager note, and in the end it settles down and somebody says that they are really happy that I am running the league and that I do a good job of staying moderate in the best interest of all. That makes me feel pretty good.

Basically I suck at fantasy football. My combined record over the 9 seasons I have been involved in is a dismal 50-62-1. I might as well be head coach of a Big Ten school like Purdue with a record like that. But I do have one championship and I’ve made the playoffs a number of times.

Why is this blog worthy? I have no idea, but I really just wanted to post a link that said, “Take a peek in to my fantasy…”

Do I need any more reason than that?

I think not!

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A peek into my fantasy…Fantasy Football that is!

  1. garry and linda says:

    as brother Barry would say “why are you telling me this?” hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

Leave a Reply

