I remain… Ham and Cheese

So much of my last three months have involved ham and cheese. While in Paris it was our primary food group breakfast, lunch and dinner. Ham factored into both Christmas eve and Christmas day dinners, both with more than a fair share of unexpected drama but decent final results. I’m about to eat ham and cheese croissants and watch a Charlie Brown Christmas Special with my love before I finally crash on Christmas night (sort of because it’s actually December 26th now). Christmas has delivered it’s usual sense on joy, surprises and a little bit of stress. I try mostly to deflect the stress and enjoy the good. It was a very reflective Christmas for me this year. My life is in pretty darn good order. Many of the people that I love are in some sort of transition with jobs, health, family, etc. I guess that leaves me by default in transition too. The good part is that times of transition always allow for the best growth opportunities. I can’t help but think that many of my friendships and relationships of all sorts have been strengthened by the events of this holiday. I am really very grateful for that and for so many other things too.

What can I say. To Mr. Gump life is like a box of chocolates, to me, right now it’s more like ham and cheese…

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I remain… Ham and Cheese

  1. alvin says:

    ham it up, dude!

Leave a Reply

