I resolve to go East instead of West

So it’s that time of year again when the world makes it’s New Year’s resolutions. My girlfriend asked me what I was going to do this year for my New Year’s resolutions. Of course I suspected there was a hidden agenda there so I probably got defensive. In all fairness she was just making conversation and I likely over reacted. I have not been big on New Year’s resolutions over the past few years. My life has had so many changes as it is that I figured just managing those changes was enough without adding a bunch of item specific things to the mix. That being said I have something in mind that while maybe trite is a reality that could help me in a number of ways.

Do you ever notice that when you are shopping at Whole Foods you have a certain amount of money in your hands that you perceive you are going to spend, but as the purple haired cashier with a flannel shirt and ear lobe plugs keeps scanning items you have to keep going back into your pocket for more money? Well I sure do. I often walk out with one paper bag (because I forgot my re-usable) of groceries that costs me $74.39.

As a counter point do you ever notice that when at Trader Joe’s you have more stuff in your hand basket than you can even carry, but when you get to the counter you have two $20 bills in your hand but you somehow manage to get change back? Well I sure do!

So with that I make a New Year’s resolution! I live two blocks from a Whole Foods to my west and two blocks from a Trader Joe’s to my east. I say, “Go East young man” and save a bundle of money in 2012.

 

It may be simple but it can’t hurt. More serious reflection to follow in my next post I’m sure. For now I remain and Eastward bound shopper…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I resolve to go East instead of West

  1. garry and linda says:

    and Meatless Monday at Whole Foods is a bad idea anyway…..yeah Trader Joe’s!

Leave a Reply

