You know what I love about the current College bowl system?

Absolutely nothing! Really! Seriously!

I used to love New Years day. Used to be my favorite day of the year. I would watch all day from the parade until the Orange Bowl ended at about midnight. I even liked the fact that often the top two teams didn’t play each other which meant there were multiple scenarios where teams ranked in the top 6 or 7 could somehow slide into the national championship mystery.

Tonight I watched my beloved Michigan Wolverines win a BCS bowl in the first year of our new savior coach…and I couldn’t have been less excited. Really, I mean it. Ask my girlfriend. I was less into this game than I was the Michigan vs. Oakland Community College game in September. Or am I just making that up? Maybe…

Some people say we must have a playoff. I say just make it the way it was in the old days. Wasn’t everything better in the old days?

I forgot actually, there is one thing that is good about the bowl system. It’s my buddy Howard and his mockery of the whole thing. If you like college football but hate 37 bowl games you should take a peek. He picks all the games and makes a mockery of the names of the games. It’s awesome. Check it out at http://soivis.wordpress.com/

Up next for me? More resolutions and a really funny Paris story that has yet to be told.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

