ABC Kitchen NYC

So about that dinner last night. I try not to blog as a summary of events or a review of something specific, but in this case I must digress. ABC kitchen is in the Flatiron district near the famous ABC textiles purveyor (thus the name). The chef/owner is Jean George Vongrichter who has been a famous NY and Chicago restaurant veteran. His recently opened “Pump Room” in Chicago has been heralded but has gotten in my estimation mixed reviews. ABC Kitchen is the restaurant that it is modeled after and it still is one of the hardest places in NYC to get into from what I am told. With the bar set very high we dined there last night. I asked the concierge at our hotel if he thought he could get me a reservation and he said “almost no chance”. I called a friend back in Chicago connected to Jean Georges but got voice mail. I then did what any self respecting Maitre D’ would do. I called the restaurant around 4 as the night door staff was coming on and explained my desire to get in tonight and that I would “truly appreciate it” if you could squeeze us in (code word for “give you money”). Ot still amazes me that so few people don’t get the fact that you can get into pretty much anyplace with a smile and some courtesy and a little “appreciation”, but I digress further.

Dinner was amazing! Crab toasts with lemon aoili, roasted butternut squash with parmagiana and pupmkin seeds, Roasted carrot salad with watercress and avocado, ricotta ravioli, brussels sprouts with thyme and garlic and perhaps the finest dessert I have ever had….salted caramel ice cream sundae with caramel and buttered popcorn, peanuts and hot fudge. We drank a bottle of Sancerre. It was one of those magical meals you get once in a great while when all the stars line up. Didn’t hurt matters that we just heard Tony Bennett sing live on stage at the Late Show with David Letterman.

It’s moments like this that I am truly reminded that I have a VERY CHARMED LIFE!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ABC Kitchen NYC

  1. garry and linda says:

    mindblowing night…..and Tony Bennett, too!

  2. bigben88 says:

    Jimmy, forgot to tell you. You were right by two of our Landmark Window jobs. My company did the entire building where ABC Carpet is the ground floor tenant (881 Broadway), and 4 years ago we replaced all the windows in the Flatiron Building. So, I guess at some point last night you were looking at our windows.. Glad you had an amazing time. Looking forward to hearing all about it over cocktails.. Cheers… JK

  3. alvin says:

    ….in chicago we call it “aioli”, same thing, new york spelling.

Leave a Reply

