Day three in NYC – Man vs. food

I’m surprised what a culinary flare our trip has taken so far. I really thought it would be mostly about sightseeing and we would grab food along the way and have a planned in advance meal or maybe two. In fact when I told people I was going to New York, they would all either ask where I was going to eat or make a suggestion and I would say, “I think we’ll mostly eat casual and see what happens.” As it turns out food has become a significant focal point of our trip. We have already dined at some pretty famous New York eateries in the Oyster Bar at Grand Central, ABC Kitchen in the Flatiron district and Joe Allen near Broadway. We have also discovered a few great slices along the streets and a fine Italian Trattoria post-theater named Tricolore. I couldn’t be more delighted. What we haven’t done yet though is dive head first into bread fried in fat, meat soaked in brine and pizza baked in minutes out of a 1200-degree coal fired oven.

If you look at my breakfast table at work on a typical weekday morning you will find things like tuna fish, hummus, wheat tortillas, fruit, tea, avocados and maybe a few supplements and vitamins. In fact it’s somewhat legendary among my co-workers what care and detail I go to preparing my meals. What can I say? I know what I like and I’m a little high maintenance. On vacation I loosen up my standards for what I eat just like I do sometimes at home. On day three in NYC I plan to blow my standards out of the water even before the sun sets on the Brooklyn Bridge.

I always try to avoid making my blog an episodic review of a single place or thing, and instead try to tell a story about how an event or events roll into more than they would otherwise seem. Thus I wouldn’t typically write three consecutive posts about three different eateries, but these three places are more than just eateries. These places are iconic experiences with great side stories so here we go then in order. Katz’s Deli, The Donut Plant and Grimaldi’s Pizza. I’ll write them all now, post them one at a time over the next few days and go back to my tuna and wheat tortillas next week with fond memories of calories and fat gone by.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Restaurants, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day three in NYC – Man vs. food

  1. The 90th Day says:

    Reblogged this on The 90th Day.

  2. garry and linda says:

    you gotta go to Jekyll and Hyde’s in Greenwich Village, man! Mindblowing place!

Leave a Reply

