Trying to make something out of nothing…

I’m due for a new post I think. The unfortunate thing is I’ve got nothing brewing upstairs today. I mean I have a number of potential topics and ideas that I want to write about eventually, but none of them seem quite “ripe” for tonight. In that case option A is to leave it alone and go out to dinner or option B is to just put the fingers on the keyboard and see what happens. Whether or not you are reading this will pretty much tell you which option is the end result.

Last night we went to see the movie called “The Descendants” for a Friday night movie and dinner date. I think it’s number six for us out of the nine films nominated for best picture. Like many people we make a last minute dash to try to see as many of the major films involved in the process. This is a completely new behavior for me in the last few years. Up until 5 years ago I had a streak of seeing about one movie in the theaters every 7 years or so. In fact I’m pretty sure at one point my line was, “The last three movies I have seen first run in the theaters are Purple Rain, Batman and Jurassic Park.” I just checked IMDB and the years of release on those films were 1984, 1989 and 1993. Three films in 9 years. Not exactly box office breaking totals, eh?¬†Nowadays it’s about one every two to three weeks with a concentration on January and February as I mentioned above.

So about “The Descendants” then. I heard mostly good reviews but many people had a hard time “categorizing” the movie. As I read over some of the IMDB reviews just now pretty much everybody concurs with that opinion that they just can’t quite decide how to label the movie. Not really a comedy, not really a drama, not really uplifting but also not very depressing. It’s just a story about life and the circumstances are just a coincidence. It’s a vehicle for what I thought was a pretty damn good performance by George Clooney and a few others. What I do know was at the end I knew I had seen something truly special and had been moved to both laughter and tears. I was just thinking that the movie reminded me very much of last year’s “The Kids are Alright” in that it’s just a story about lives and relationships, the nature of which are again, truly coincidental.

This morning I was emailing a friend out of state that I trade emails with every week or so. We haven’t seen each other in over twenty years. She has three grown kids and I have none. She is going on 25 years married and I am dating a girl very much my junior in years but very much my equal in life wisdom. Our lives couldn’t be more different in so many ways, yet the things we deal with on an everyday basis are so very similar despite the “coincidental circumstances. Very much like the two movies I just mentioned above.

Well off to dinner then. Just and ordinary Saturday night in an ordinary life. Or is it? I guess we’ll see. Oh and about those options, its option B I guess…

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

