Typical Tuesday with a few Twists

Like any typical Tuesday my alarm went off at 5 a.m. this past morning. I hit snooze a couple of times and rolled out of bed about 5:15 a.m. I quickly gathered my things and got dressed and hit the road about 5:30 a.m. As I pulled out of my heated indoor garage I was greeted by a snow meets freezing rain mix and I drove up the Kennedy expressway in the wake of more than a few truck’s backsplash. Yuck!

I really hoped to get up to Lincoln Park Athletic Club with enough time to spare to grab a cup of tea at Starbucks before class. It was close but I had just enough time to spare, and it was the last day I could put Sugar in the Raw in my tea for the next 47 days so I treasured the opportunity.

As normal I taught an intermediate/advanced yoga class from 6:00-7:30 a.m. and a beginning/intermediate yoga class from 7:30-9:00 a.m. Many regulars and friends join me for both classes and they are a joyous way to start my day, not to mention I actually get paid for it!

After class I usually hit the steam room for ten minutes, shave, shower and get on the road by 9:30 a.m. Today I stopped at Einstein’s Bagels for a breakfast sandwich and ran into an old work buddy from my Binny’s days. Then I continued on to what was sure to be a hectic day at Joe’s Stone Crab during Chicago restaurant week.

Lunch shift came and went without much drama. We served about 270 lunches and I pretty much interacted with nearly everybody that came in some way or another. I had a longing for a Paczki which never got fulfilled but after our pre-shift meeting a computer guy I know came in with a box of gourmet donuts which must be the modern day equivalent of the Fat Tuesday fried dough thing and I sampled a Maple/Bacon twist, a PB&J donut and a Long John with almond creme that was to die for. Sugar fix satisfied!

After the lunch shift I ate a piece of Dover sole, broccoli, a baked potato and even had a brownie with peppermint ice cream to totally kill the urge to binge moving forward. From 4;30 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. I once again went into the “full experience” service mode and by 10:00 p.m. had pretty much interacted with nearly 1000 in one day and was somewhere between totally sated and totally spent.

My plan was to grab my girl and head off to Paris Club for a “Fat Tuesday” send off meal and a bottle of great wine. Wrench in the plan was that my girl had gotten sick while at work that night and spent much of her last hour teetering on the edge of throwing up and passing out.

As an audible I ordered a Filet and some sides to take home for my “last supper” and we both headed home with the hope that the car ride would somehow settle the moment and  make all things better. By 11:00 p.m I was at home eating a 10 ounce filet, asparagus, Jenny’s potatoes and enjoying a 2007 Ladera Cabernet which I would drink to the last drop. All the while my poor girl rested with her head propped up in bed hoping beyond hope that her stomach would settle and she would not make another mad dash to the bathroom.

It’s now 1 a.m the next day. My Lenten sacrifice is in active mode. I’ve been awake for nearly 20 hours and the truly sick part of all of this is that this is a pretty routine Tuesday (minus the Lent prep and the nauseous  girlfriend). I consider myself so lucky to have the opportunity to work this hard and frankly, I’m truly blessed to be able make as much in one day as many families in our world make in one week (or even a month).

Well it’s bedtime. I’m at the “wall” so to speak. This is sort of a useless post but it is what it is, and I’m off to bed.

 

 

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

