Pardon me miss would you like to check your….Yorkie?

As I general rule I have tried to avoid posting specific things about my primary place of work. I’m fine making a passing reference or quickly citing a humorous incident, but I mostly have felt that I didn’t want to cross the line and ever make this blog a bitch session about the freaky people or crazy shit I see in the restaurant business. That ends right now! I’m still never going to make it a regular focus, but some stuff is just to priceless not to share and there’s a boatload of potential material.

The other day I walked into the coat check room like I do about a hundred times a day, but this time when I walked in I saw a little dog on the carry-out counter. I’m pretty sure it was a Yorkshire Terrier. Now mind you it’s not the first time I’ve seen a dog on the counter. In fact one of our regulars often brings her 17 year old dog with her in his little carrier case while she picks up the mashed potatoes he likes (another story indeed), but this was definitely the first time in my recollection that someone had checked their dog.

Yep. Seriously. It happened. Six foot tall, 3oish year old woman wearing 4 inch heels and giant movie star sunglasses walked in, plunked her little dog down on the counter and said, “I want to order a couple of cheeseburgers but I have to use the bathroom so will you watch this for me?”

How do people get this way? I’m totally fine with people who love their dogs to a crazy degree. In fact some of my best friends worship their dogs. I’m pretty sure none of them would parade them into a restaurant and hand them off to the first member of the service staff they see and then disappear for ten minutes.  Well needless to say we all had a pretty good laugh at the ridiculousness of the situation. We sent our new friends on their way with their cheeseburgers and then feverishly sanitized every surface in the area.

Did I mention that the the little guy was wearing a sweater? All in a day’s work my friends. All in a day’s work.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

