My little reminder today…

I’m pretty used to eating on the run. Many years in retail and restaurant work will do that to you. I don’t like it, sometimes it frustrates me, but it’s just the way it is. As a general rule whenever I get my lunch ready all hell breaks loose and I have a hard time finding a way to sit down and enjoy even a couple of bites. Some of my typical interruptions include but are not limited to phone calls, parties of 5 that need to be sat (requiring me to set a table that isn’t already prepared to go), a server who needs a bottle of wine or the classic family with a stroller needing a high chair. Today when I came up to the front of the restaurant with my lunch in hand I ran into just that. A young couple with a stroller waiting at the front door looking to go into the dining room. I put down my food and started to explain to them that we didn’t allow strollers in the dining room. I ‘m usually pretty good at taking care of the guests needs regardless of my lunch in waiting. In fact often times guests apologize to me for interrupting my food. That’s very thoughtful on their part. Well today as I was trying to explain to the nice young couple with the stroller that they could either sit in bar with their stroller at their side or check the stroller and take a table with a high chair in the dining room, I stopped and realized that they were both totally deaf. Here they were with their beautiful infant child trying to get a couple of sandwiches and a piece of pie. And here I was trying not to be frustrated that I couldn’t eat my free lobster salad. I suddenly felt very small. I love the fact that I get sent these little reminders every so often. Enough said…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My little reminder today…

  1. Charlene Herbert says:

    Morning,

    Always remembering to thank God for His blessings, that’s very dear to me.
    Thanking Him for my blessing YOU.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

