Quiet Please. Or Not.

I can have a tendency to be loud once and a while. I’d like to think of it as if I have a commanding voice. My girlfriend sometimes says its booming. I only mention this because it stands to reason that if I think somebody else is being loud than they must pretty loud. Apply said logic to my story for the day.

Yesterday both started and ended for me with strange bookends of loud people in need of an awareness check. In the morning when I got to work I got on the elevator of the parking garage at the seventh floor. There were two men already on the elevator one of whom was talking loudly on his phone. I’m not a big fan of people who think it’s okay to talk on their phones in an elevator. I just think it’s flat out rude. As I get on the elevator the other man’s phone rings. He answers the phone and starts talking loudly as well so now I have two people on the same elevator nearly shouting at people on the other ends of their respective phone calls because they don’t seem to understand that the reason those people can’t hear them is not because they aren’t talking loud enough, but rather because they have poor reception because the are IN AN ELEVATOR!

I gave them each that glance that says, “I can’t believe that you’re actually doing this” which had absolutely no effect at all so I then resorted to my only other choice. In my commanding/booming voice I began to bellow, “FA LA LA FA LA LA LA FA LA LA LAAAA!!!” I typically try to avoid responding to lack of courtesy with additional lack of courtesy, but in this instance I made an exception.

Much later that night after a lovely dinner at a place called HB in Boystown we were sharing a cab ride home with another couple we dine with fairly regularly. I was in the backseat with the two girls and my buddy was in the front seat with the cabdriver who was talking on the phone using a headset. I see this a lot when I get in cabs and I usually don’t say anything unless I feel they are not paying attention to the road because of the phone call. In this case the driver was talking so loudly that not only was it disrupting my conversation with my buddy in the front seat, but I also couldn’t hear the girls sitting next to me very well. In fact he was talking so loudly I think the person on the other end might have heard him without the phone. Even if they lived in another country! After putting up with it for more than a few minutes and correspondingly increasing our volume I finally used my commanding/booming voice and said, “Pardon me Sir I’m sorry is our conversation distracting you from your phone call?” At which point the slightly tipsy girls began to laugh hysterically. At the same point the driver became very quiet.

I’m not exactly sure what the moral of this story is, but I do know that if you think you are going to outdo this writer when it comes to volume, let me tell you loud and clear, that ain’t gonna happen my friend!

Now I’m off to the St. Patrick’s day parade. Happy, beer-infused Irish people and other friends outside on a Sunny 70 degree day in March. Hmmm? I suspect I might get a run for my money today.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

