Double Dip of Diphenhydramine

In yet another example of the random crap that happens to Jim I learned today that you are not supposed to take topical and internal Benadryl at the same time. Unless of course that the pharmacist says, “Ya whatever…”

At some point about half way through my Monday evening hot yoga class I noticed my eyes were getting itchy and and my face was getting even redder than normal. Most logical people would have stopped and gone into the locker room and check things out. In typical fashion I pushed on and ignored the problem. I was thinking of doubling up and taking another class after, but by the time the first class was over I had come to my senses and realized I better check this thing out. I have no idea what I got into but my neck was blotchy and my eyes were watery and I was actually a little bit concerned.

I quickly showered and went to the place that shall remain nameless nearby the yoga studio to get some topical Benadryl. I have about three bottles of it at home because I never seem to have it with me when I need it. Now I have four. When  I got to the anti-histamine aisle I opened the bottle and put some on right away. Since my eyes were itchy too I thought that I better take a Benadryl pill as well, but when I was reading the back label it said don’t use with any other products containing diphenhydramine even if topical. Now I’m really starting to get nervous. Why in the hell did I put that topical stuff on right away I start asking myself?

I go to check out at the pharmacy counter and ask if I can speak to the pharmacist about the products I’m buying. After I explain to her the predicament I’m in and that I’m really nervous about overdosing on diphenhydramine and not being able to drive home she looks at the products on the counter, looks up at me and says, “Ya whatever just take both. It’s not going to kill you.”

Well there you have it. The words of a highly trained professional. Some times I think just worry about nothing.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

