Really Daryl?

I’m coming off a fairly intense week as you may know if you have been reading along. Tragedy and self-reflection make for interesting bedfellows. So much good has been a part of what in many other ways has been a tough week. For my friends and and good fortune I am truly grateful. I have a lot of ideas brewing around in this little head of mine right now. Ideas for things I will do in the near future. Ideas for things I won’t do in the future at all. And most certainly ideas for new blog posts. Many of my thoughts have been deep and reflective this week, but frankly I’m more in the mood for a silly light hearted post than an emotional and intense one, so here it is in all of it’s ridiculousness.

Really Daryl?

A few years ago CJ and I had the opportunity to see Hall and Oates at the UIC pavilion. Hall and Oates were a huge part of the music of my youth and  in my opinion they are one of the most successful studio bands of all times. I probably saw them perform when I was young. I saw so many shows I can hardly remember. Nonetheless CJ definitively never saw them so we took the tickets that our friends offered us and went to the show.

The performance was an odd mix of Holiday music and classic hits divided into two sets. The first half of the show was all Holiday music which had a number of attendees not too pleased and wondering if that was all they were going to get to see (us included). The second half of the show delivered a steady stream of Sarah Smile, Maneater, Private Eyes and the like. I would say it was almost worth the price of admission. Unfortunately in our case that was free so do what you will with that info.

The most interesting part of the show to us was the fact the Daryl Hall had a fan on stage at the base of his microphone that blew up to make his still flowing blond hair wisp in the wind for pretty much the entire show. I couldn’t help but wonder if he was just really hot or if he liked the way his hair looked blowing in the wind. The whole episode has become a bit of a running gag for us over the last couple of years as we tongue in cheek poke fun at his blowing hair and his two armed pumping, circa 1980 tragic dance moves. I often try to horrify CJ by imitating those moves in public settings which makes me strangely satisfied.

Saturday night after our movie double feature of The Lorax and The Hunger Games (which is a future blog post in and of itself) we dashed into Big Bowl.  It’s one of our favorite stops. We made it just before they closed so we sat at the counter like we typically do and on the TVs above the bar a show was just starting. The show is something I’d never seen before called Live from Daryl’s House starring the one and only Daryl Hall. Saturday night’s guest was Cee Lo Green. Since we were in a bar we couldn’t hear the sound but it actually looks like a pretty cool concept. Musicians gather at Daryl Hall’s house and have a jam session splitting time between each other’s music. At another place and time I might actually watch it. At this moment in time all I could think of was whether or not Daryl would have his fan so I jokingly said to CJ, “I wonder if he’ll have his hair fan running in his in home studio?”

A couple of minutes later the gang started into a rendition of Gnarles Barkley’s Crazy and sure enough, very slightly you could detect Daryl’s still flowing locks drifting in the breeze. Now I realize that this guy who is about to turn 65 is one of the most talented song writers of all time. I realize that he’s is still kicking it out and looks pretty damn good for a guy even 15 years younger than he is. But when it’s all said and done the only thing I could think of as I’m watching everybody in the studio grooving to the music and watching his hair drift in the breeze was “Really, Daryl?”

I realize that this is totally insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but there you have it. My ridiculous observation of the day. If you want to get a look at the video of my boys Cee Lo and Daryl you can find it here. Back tomorrow with more deep thoughts, news of the weird or random crap that happens in my life. I just had the highest traffic week of my seven month blogging career. I can’s wait to share my next idea. Stay tuned I’m going to need help from a whole bunch of you…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Really Daryl?

  1. Charlene Herbert says:

    HI Jim,
    Just found your blog on Grandma, very touching and beautifully written.
    I’m so glad I saw it.
    much love
    Mom

Leave a Reply

