Jamba Juice 2 – The follow up

A few weeks ago I posted about a series of unsatisfactory visits to Jamba Juice in the last year. If you didn’t have a chance to check it out yet I suggest you read over my Open letter to Jamba Juice before continuing. Tonight I finally had a chance to respond to the response I got to the first letter. I promised I would keep you posted so here it is.

Jamba’s Response

Hello Jim,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Although we are sorry to read about your experiences, we find your feedback very helpful in that you point out specifics and give us direction as to where we need to improve. From what you have described, we have some additional training and coaching to perform right away. If you wouldn’t mind providing specific locations, I’d like to be able to properly address your concerns with the correct management teams. We pride ourselves on offering our customers a positive, uplifting experience. We greatly appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to address your concerns and to make things right.
I have taken the liberty of sending a jambacard in the amount of $20.00 to the address you’ve provided. I look forward to your response, that I might address these issues right away.
Sincerely,
Paul – Jamba Juice

My Response to Jamba’s Response

Dear Paul,

Thank you for responding to my letter about my experiences at Jamba Juice. As I expected your words are courteous and positive, much like most of the employees I have encountered in your stores. I must admit that I was a bit surprised that I had heard nothing in the first five days after my posting the letter on your company website, but I suppose it takes some time to sift through all the comments and prepare an appropriate response. I have probably waited too long to respond to your response so I guess it’s a two way street.

In terms of your follow up questions about which locations I had visited, all I can say is that I live and work downtown and have visited nearly every location I know of between Maxwell Street and Diversey at some point over the last couple of years. I also want to reiterate that almost all of my visits which resulted in unsatisfactory experiences were related to systems failures not service failures. I’m not going to fault a clerk who doesn’t have bananas for not being able to execute my order, but rather the system that left him out of stock on bananas. He can smile at me, call me by name and be the nicest person I have ever met, but if he can’t fill my order I’m going to have an unsatisfactory experience. Use that information however you wish.

I’ve been thinking for the past couple of weeks about the $20 Jambacard you sent me. I wanted to take some time and make sure my first response was not overly emotional or out of balance. After sitting on it for two weeks I’m still pretty much at the same place I was when I got your first response. I have to be frank with you and tell you that it just isn’t enough to make me feel all warm and fuzzy about Jamba Juice again. I hate to sound like a money grubbing complainer but think this through with me.

I referenced somewhere in the area of 15 negative experiences at Jamba Juice stores over the last year. I told you that I continued to go back anyways and the only thing that stopped me from going back yet again was the time that I went in and ordered something that I was told you were out of while the clerk was eating the exact thing I was ordering. So in the end you are offering me $1.33 per unsatisfactory visit to not only forget and come back, but also to take the time to write you an original complaint letter and then take the time to respond to your follow up questions. I’m thinking that this just doesn’t all add up in my mind.

So I work in a what I think is a fairly decent restaurant. I presume you have had the occasion to eat out at some point in the last year so let me draw for you this analogy. Let’s say you go into a restaurant. You have a 7:30 p.m. reservation but you actually get seated at 7:53 p.m. You wait about 15 minutes to get anyone to come to your table. When they finally do come you order a drink and they come back and tell you they are out of the ingredients to make that drink. You can have a similar drink but not the one you wanted first choice. You order something else to drink instead of leaving to go to a different restaurant. You then order a salad. The server brings you the wrong salad. You send it back and wait for the correct salad. After you finish the salad you order an entree and it comes out cold. You send it back and while you are waiting for it you order a bottle of wine. A few minutes later the server comes back and tells you they are out of that wine. You finally get your food and your guest is already done with their meal by the time you get your entree and the alternate bottle of wine. The manager comes over and apologizes and offers to buy you dessert and then drops a check for $150 for the rest of the meal. Would you feel warm and fuzzy about that experience? I can’t answer for you but I think it’s a fairly safe bet that the answer is no.

I’m really not trying to be that jerk that complains and then wants to complain more when the managers apologize, but I have to be honest and tell you how I truly feel. You can either acknowledge those feelings or write me off as an ingrate. I only bring all this to your attention because it would truly be my preference to find a way to trust Jamba again and return to visiting with the confidence that my time invested will be worth my efforts. At this time I think it’s best that I take a break and see if I can go in with a fresh mindset at some point in the future. I’ve decided to donate the $20 gift card you sent me right now so that somebody who might need and appreciate it can have a treat.

Thanks for your time and attention to this letter. All the best towards future success.

Jim Herbert

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

