Did You Just Call Me?

I guess I haven’t had much to say this week. Partially because I’ve been a bit under the weather and partially because I’ve been fairly reflective. On a whim (get it on a whim) I stopped by Holy Name Cathedral last Monday night when I was too sick to practice yoga and it started what turned out to be a bit of a Holy Week journey for me through a number of services and parishes. It turned out to be a good fill in for my time in the evening since I wasn’t able to practice or teach much at all over the last week. I guess God/Universe comes calling in unexpected ways sometimes. I’ll write about it when it’s all said and done I’m quite sure but for now I’m still digesting stuff.

Speaking about calls, do you ever get one of those calls where you pick up your phone and someone says, “Ya you just called me?” Or worse are you one of those people who makes those calls? I’ve got news for you. If I wanted to tell you something I would have left you a message. Maybe I even did and you didn’t listen! At work I would estimate that I pick up the phone at least a dozen times per week at work and get that, “Ya you just called me?” or some sort of paraphrase of that statement. It makes total sense because our reservationists make a few hudred confirmation calls per day and in every case they leave a message. Without fail some people feel the need to call back before even listening to their messages and ask why you are calling: sometimes in a tone that implies that they own the frequency that the call was placed on and that it was a terrible inconvenience that their phone rang. Even on my own phone I occasionally get a call back from someone I know with that. “Ya why did you call me” tone. I’ve got two pieces of information for you people. Curiosity killed the cat and you’re not that important.

I love that Ellen DeGeneres phone call to God sketch from the old days. Let’s for a minute  switch it around and imagine you got a phone call from God. What if you saw that you missed the call and called back in an angry voice and said, “Ya you just called me…what do you want?” Perhaps it’s best to just listen to the message or wait and see if they call back. I’m just saying.

Well there’s my random thought for the day. Back to reflection and rest. More about the my pilgrammage in my next post. Stay well my friends…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

