Nice Haircut!

I so enjoyed the funny little story the priest used to start his sermon on Easter. I’ve had the occasion to re-tell the story a couple of times already and had great result, so I thought I’d throw it out in this forum to get the blogging wheels turning again. I’d credit the teller if I knew his name, but I’m thinking it’s one of those through the grapevine sort of tales anyway so I don’t feel too bad about not naming its source. The story fit well with the message of the homily but is really fun even out of its intended context.

Nice Haircut

An elderly man named Charlie went to his local barber to get his hair cut like he has been doing every three weeks for many years. On this day when the barber asked him what was new in his world he excitedly told the barber that he and his wife were just about to
leave on a trip to Italy to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. The barber relpied, “Italy? I went to Italy once. We hated it. The people were all rude, nobody speaks English. The streets are filthy and there are pickpockets everywhere. You can have it as far as I’m concerned. What airline are you flying?”

Charlie told the barber that they had used their miles and gotten business class on Sonic airlines at a very reasonable rate. “Sonic?” the barber exclaimed. “That’s a terrible airline. They’re always late. The attendants are surly and if you are lucky enough to get a meal it certainly won’t be edible. Where are you staying?”

“We are staying at the Grand Hotel in Rome” Charlie told his barber. “The Grand? Let me tell you there’s nothing grand about that hotel. We stayed there and the rooms are too small. The mattress was lumpy. The staff was as unfriendly as anyone I met on the whole trip. That ain’t no Grand hotel!”

Charlie let silence pass for a moment and then said in retort, “Well the thing we are really excited about is that we got tickets to an audience with the Pope.”

“Audience with the Pope?” exclaimed the barber. “Let me tell you about an audience with the Pope. They herd you into a square like a bunch of cattle and at some point the Pope sticks his head into the room and waves. You’ll be lucky if you even catch a glimpse of the Pope!”

Three weeks pass and Charlie comes back to his barber after the trip to Italy. He sits down in the chair and right away the barber says, “So how was the trip?” Charlie replies, “You know actually we had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect. The people were so nice. We ate amazing food. The hotel was fantastic. They gave us a room up on a high floor with a view out onto the city. And the best part of it all was our audience with the Pope.” Charlie smiled wryly as the frustrated barber was starting to cut his hair and said, “Ya? What was so great about the audience with the Pope?”

“Well you see somehow the Pope had found out we were celebrating our 50th anniversary and he gave us a personal blessing.” Charlie said proudly. “He had us come up to the altar and kneel at his feet. He introduced us to the entire congregation of people, congratulated us and then he blessed us in front of all of them. On top of that the Pope even gave me, little old Charlie a personal message to take home with me.”

“A personal message? What kind of personal message did the Pope give you?” Charlie paused for a just a few seconds and the said, “Well you see we were kneeling at the altar and  just as the Pope placed his hands on our heads to bless us he leaned into over and whispered in my ear…

“That’s the worst haircut I’ve ever seen!”

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

