We’re Doomed!

Okay so this was not the post I was intending after a three week layoff, but I just can’t stop myself. I have so many things kicking around in my head because I have so many reflections that are current. That being said I just clicked the TV on tonight when I finally sat down at 11:30 p.m. (my first mistake) and the show that came on the channel that was tuned in was called Toddlers and Tiaras. Seriously? This is a show?

The only thing worse than the title is actually watching the show. It’s like watching a two trains coming at each other full speed on the same track. You know it’s going to be a disaster but you just can’t stop watching. What the fuck is wrong with parents that think this a good idea to dress up girls that are age 2 to 6 in suggestive costumes and parade them around a stage dancing and at times carrying house pets ranging from fish to dogs to snakes? I literally want to go into a full seizure as I watch the judges and mothers talk seriously about the whole thing like it is a significant and a serious and meaningful competition. I weep for the future of these poor girls and I can’t help but wish these parents were imprisoned.

Can anybody convince me that I’m over-reacting or that there is a purpose to this ridiculous waste of airtime? I may never be able to watch TLC again. To think they purport themselves as The Learning Channel.

The only word I can think of at this moment in time is OY!

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’re Doomed!

  1. Chris says:

    Sad commentary on the state of Education. Alternately, it’s almost the same quailty of Education you get form an onilne degree program…

  2. soivis says:

    I first learned of this show from E’s “The Soup”. I never understood why they stoned people to death in biblical times. Now I get freaking get it.

Leave a Reply

