Here I am again!

The title applies in a couple of different ways on this abundantly sunny and amazingly beautiful Thursday morning. Allow me to bring you further into my often elusive brain.

The first way that “Here I am again” applies to my day is that I’ve only posted to my blog once in  the last month or so. I’m not really sure why but mostly I’ve been a bit drawn in. Not withdrawn mind you but definitely not effusively expressive either. I think it has something to do with a Reiki attunement I received about the same time I wandered off the path of blogging. I’m not entirely sure I just know that I haven’t been inspired to sit down and write and I never like to force the matter of writing. My Reiki teacher told me that I would go through a 21 day chakra cleanse with a high degree of inward focus. I guess she was totally correct, but that’s a whole different blog post indeed.

The second way that “Here I am again” applies to my day is that I’m about to walk into the Yoga Circle and use those exact words as I greet and take class with my original teacher Gabriel Halpern.  I haven’t been to class with my Guruji in what I would guess is about 10 years. I’ve probably taken about 2500-3000 classes in that span of time and somehow I’ve never made it back to the yoga circle. I’m nervous in a way that I haven’t been nervous going into a class in a long time, but it’s a good nervous.

My life has changed so much in the last ten years. My marital status, my employment status, my residence and most of my friends are all different than they were ten years ago and that merely scratches the surface of some of the material coincidences. The single most constant thing in my life over the last ten years has been the mat. For you non-yogis the mat is a commonly used term for a person’s individual yoga practice. In my mind it’s such a beautiful and expressive term. A yogi and his mat can be much like a concert pianist and his piano. I had the great privilege of seeing Lang Lang perform live this past weekend at the Lyric. The artist and his piano seemed like a single entity. To me the ultimate practice is when the line of distinction between the yogi and his mat disappears.

So today I return to the birthplace of my time on the mat. I vividly remember walking into the Yoga Circle the first time and declaring that I wanted to take the intermediate class. Gabriel asked me if I had completed an intro series and I boastfully told him that I had not, but that “I had taken a number of classes at the health club and that I had teaching martial arts for a few years.” He looked up at me from the desk and said, “Can you stand on your head in the middle of the room for 5 mninutes?” I sheepishly answered “No” and melted inside. Gabriel looked at me with a scowl on his face and a twinkling smile in his eye and told me to go get changed for class. And right there in that exact moment the lessons began.

This morning my life once again comes full circle. Oh the joy!

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

