Just another weekend in Jimland?

I always try to avoid writing a blog that is only a summary of what I’m doing and instead try to use what is happening to tell a larger story. Sometimes though the events are a story enough in themselves so that is where I find myself on a Sunday night as I sit down to summarize what can only be described as a ridiculous and phenomenal weekend. I’m listening to Reggae (I love Bob Marley and my girl bought me an amazing print of him at an artists show on Thursday) and I’m having a glass of red wine (no shock to that same girlfriend I’m sure) and my hands are at the keyboard in what has once again been too long a sabbatical from writing.

Friday night CJ walked in a fashion show as she has been doing with a good deal of frequency lately. The thing that was a little bit different this time was that it was a bridal show for a high end wedding dress designer. For most guys the first time they see their girl in a wedding dress is at a wedding. Not so much in this case. I had a few friends along for cocktails at the Crimson Lounge at the Hotel Sax and let me just say that it’s both amazing and a little bit overwhelming to see your beautiful girlfriend in a $10,00o wedding dress on a routine Friday night. And that was only the beginning! After the show CJ had a Dobel Maestro tequila which coincidentally is the new brand she is a representative for and we headed to Paris Club for a bite to eat. Our friends in tow wanted to party at Studio Paris after so I arranged for us to get a table upstairs and they wanted to treat us to a night of fun. Now the last time we were there with them we managed to polish off five bottles of Dom Perignon. On this night we were a bit more civil and limited it to two bottles of Dom…and a litre of Grey Goose. For some reason I thought it was a good idea to have a vodka at 1:45 a.m as we danced to DJ Politik a decision I would sorely regret the next morning. All in all though we had an amazing time with some special friends both from in town and from out of town. Crashed hard and on to Saturday morning.

The best cure I know of for a hangover is breakfast tacos at Hub 51. About noon we got to that point. CJ suggested that maybe after breakfast we should head down to the Hyde Park art show. We lived together in her little apartment in Hyde Park when we first got together but had almost never been there in the last few years. She apparently knew some girl through a mutual friend that had a booth with crystal, incense and some Rastafarian stuff so for me it was a no brainer. Not a typical Saturday afternoon diversion but a pretty cool one. We met up with Charlotte and her husband who is a jewelry maker from Trinidad. They make super cool copper jewelry in the shape of “ankh” and a number of other things. I bought my first ever “ankh” and looked at photos of their work and the pyramid room in their home. All in all a very special and unique addition to our weekend. After an iced coffee and a quick trip home to cool off we headed to our place of employment for a casual meal of grilled halibut, lobster, rock crab and the trimmings. A special treat for most and totally accessible to us we are so lucky. We wanted to see The Avengers later that night since we had yet to find the time but surprisingly it was sold out even weeks after release. Plan B was Abraham Lincoln Vampire Killer. What? How did this happen? It was either that or Magic Mike and I think you all know how I would feel about that. Let’s just say that at points I wondered if I might have been better at Magic Mike and that’s saying something!

Sunday I had a previously booked outing with my buddy Cliff at his very exclusive private golf club called The Merit Club in Libertyville. I have played there with him before and it is always a special experience. Personal lockers, amazing food and an excellent course with caddies and beautiful surroundings. On this day by chance Michael Jordan was playing in the foursome behind us. I was almost hoping we would be slow enough for them to ask to play through but that never happened. After our round we were in the men’s locker room/club having a glass of wine and Michael walked in and looked at the TV and asked who was leading the ATT National at The Congressional in Bethesda Maryland. I looked over to him and said, “Tiger is winning by one stroke on the 16th hole.” He sat down and said, “Well that’s the time to be in the lead.” I spent the next hour with eight guys in a locker room watching the end of the tournament as Michael cheered on his buddy Tiger to his one stroke win while enjoying a glass of wine and the great company of my buddy Cliff. I even got an awesome hat out of the trip to protect my little head from sunburn.

I think I texted about a dozen people about this surreal situation and then I drove home to my wonderfully air conditioned apartment in the South Loop and reflected on a mind bending weekend. I try not to forget that the things I get to experience exceed even my wildest dreams sometimes. This weekend was a perfect example. But you know what? As special as it was it really wasn’t any better than a casual dinner out with a couple of local friends, a day on an average course with my oldest childhood friend, a night watching movies in bed at home with my girl, a glass of wine on the front porch on Barton street with my NB bud, a lunch with my Mom, a talk over a cup of tea about world religion, a Facebook chat with an old HS friend, a night at home alone, a great yoga class with one of my favorite inspirations or so many other routine things. The great thing about the amazing is it can remind you of the beauty of simplicity…

…if you let it. Great days on the horizon my friends. Great days of all shapes and sizes!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

