Numerology and the Number 23

I was lying in bed this morning doing some Reiki on myself and trying to muster up enough energy to walk down to the beach for an early morning stroll. Not a bad life, eh? My Reiki teacher told us that you should try to do a mundane task with your mind while treating yourself to help allow the energy to flow. I know that not everybody relates to this vibe but nonetheless it’s part of the story. What I was doing with my mind on this occasion was I was trying to figure out how many beach vacations I’ve been on in my adult life. I was drifting through the memories and trying to remember some of the multiple visits to certain places. I was mentally meandering through the Caribbean with stops in St Lucia, Can Cun,  Negril, St Martin and a few other sites along the way. As close as I can figure this is my 23rd beach vacation.

Interesting I thought since I come from Chicago, a city somewhat famous for it’s Number 23. In fact 23 may be one of the most well known numbers in sports history and coincidentally, while I was playing the Merit Club golf course not even three weeks ago good old number 23 MJ himself was in the foursome behind me. After our round we were sitting in the Men’s locker/clubhouse with a glass of wine watching the end of The Colonial golf tournament which was eventually won by Tiger Woods. About 10 minutes later MJ walks in and asks, “Who’s winning?” I look at him and say “Tiger by a stoke with two to play.” He responds by saying in his all too famous MJ voice, “Well that’s the time to be in the lead isn’t it?” and then he pulls up a chair and sits down to watch the tournament. A bit surreal. I’m not typically a startstruck kind of guy but here I am in a clubhouse with only 7 other people watching perhaps the world’s best know current athlete win a tournament while chatting with probably the world’s most famous athlete of all time. Not a bad life, eh?

There’s a couple more interesting little plays on the number 23 going through my head as I write this. For example in two days I’ll return from Jamaica exactly 23 years to the day from my first ever arrival on this island that I have grown to love so well. On a July day in 1990 I arrived in Ocho Rios Jamaica as young excited honeymooner on what was for sure the most adventurous trip of my life to date at that point. Interestingly enough I spent 23 years with my ex-wife.

I arrive in Jamaica this time with my new fiancee. I met her some years ago and we started dating in 2007 when she was, you guessed it, 23 years old. We have overcome a number of hurdles in what might appear to the outsider an improbable pairing. To us everything makes sense from the Reiki, to the zest for life, to the power of positive thinking, to the spiritual side of being, to the peaceful and beautiful energy of the Jamaican people. Not a bad life, eh?

On a whim I did a Google search for “Numerolgy and the number 23”. This is what I found.

The number 23 reduces to the number 5. 2 + 3. The most common trait found within the Number 23 is the ability to adapt and change. 5s are highly inquisitive individuals who consider hands on experience to be the best teacher in life. Many of them are deeply intelligent, philosophical and spiritually minded.

The ability to adapt and change they say? I’m learning. Like all things in life, it’s a work in progress with progress being the key word. Well now it’s off to one of the constants in my life, the good old yoga mat. I’ll then wake up that sleepy fiancee of mine and hustle her off to breakfast so we can get on to the business of relaxing under a beach hut. Maybe have a rum drink or two and a Jamaican patty for lunch. Amazing how some things in life can stay the same even in the midst of change. Not a bad life, eh?

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Numerology and the Number 23

  1. Pingback: Dis and Dat | Jimswhimz's Blog

Leave a Reply

