My life and Montauk – The Prolouge

I returned from Montauk, New York late last night. Like most trips it went way too fast, but at the same time it made me feel like I had been gone from my everyday life for weeks. Funny how that juxtaposition works in relation to leisure travel. Montauk has played a role in my life in a few different ways over the years. This time it played the role of a sort of family re-union. The trip re-kindled some old relationships, sparked a few special memories and opened up a side of my life previously unknown to my life partner and now fiancee. And it did all that in what accounted to about a long weekend– 67 hours in total to be exact.

To make a long story short (something I’m particularly bad at) when my Dad died about 15 years ago, he was the last living member of his immediate family. Both of his younger siblings and his parents had all pre-deceased him and all of their family trees left their roots in New York and surrounding areas of the East coast.  I used to go to New York with my family every summer but those trips ended in the early 1980s. Result equaled I lost touch with the 7 cousins I had on my Dad’s side of the family. In fact the last time I saw anybody from that side was when a few of my cousins came out to visit my Dad in the summer of 1997 before he died later that year.

I didn’t write at all while I was in Montauk. That’s a fairly unusual result while I am traveling. I read instead. I read the first 300 pages of Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol in the quiet times and at other times I enjoyed soaking up sun and experiences with family which ranged from watching the Olympics to tubing and many things in between. At one point during the week we even dug out one of my old blogs that loosely included a story about our grandparents and CJ read it to a few of my cousins. I appreciated their positive feedback and knew all to well that at some point I’d be sitting fingers on keyboard trying to write the perfect summary of my time in Montauk. The problem is that I can’t. I’m usually pretty good about wrapping my mind around a bunch of disjointed tidbits of information and/or stories ultimately coming out with a reasonably cohesive product. I just can’t figure it out this time. Solution?

Instead of forcing things that in my mind don’t fit together into one unreasonably long blog post (cardinal sin of blogging) I’m returning to one of my favorite writing tactics. A series of blog posts with a unified theme. This time the theme of course Montauk and it’s recurring role in my life. I think it will turn out to be 5 or 6 posts. I already have them mostly written in my head. So on we go then… of lighthouses and plane crashes, tartar sauce and grandparents, bike rides and beach visits, hurricanes, tornadoes, even monsters and many more things I will write. Yes I said monsters. This should be a fun week!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

