A few thoughts on the 1-year anniversary of JimsWhimz

So it was a year ago tomorrow that I fearlessly dove into the world of blogging. On the eve of our trip to Paris I declared my intent to try to post a few blogs along the roads of France and England and little did I know what a huge part of the trip writing would become for me. Many a night was spent with a nightcap in our little Le Pelletier apartment summarizing our events of the day in a way that was more than just a summary of events. I found a voice that had been missing for many years in my writing and I definitely found a passion to tell stories again.

I first learned to love storytelling as a very young boy. In fact I think I wrote something about an ant and a dinosaur in my first grade class that won a contest. I suppose my Mom would remember that better than I would at this point. In my year of blogging I’ve had highs and lows. There have been weeks that I have posted daily and there have been 6 week periods (current weeks included) that I have posted nothing. I’ve lost my voice a few times and I’ve gained it again at times for better and at times for worse. Overall I think I’ve stuck true to my goal to never force it though. After a long hiatus I think I’m ready to hit the keyboard with a decent bit of regularity again. As I look back over the 118 posts from the last year I realize how nice it is to have a sort of public forum diary of what was a pretty phenomenal year. I can only expect with a wedding ahead in the year to come that it would be a shame to not chronicle thoughts and feelings along the way and most importantly…share it with others if they so choose to take a peek. In the last year there have been 3370 “peeks” a number that I never would have imagined possible when I timidly posted for the first few times while we were in France. So in celebration of my one year anniversary of blogging I write!

Much like a year ago I have a similar lack of expectation and no idea where it will carry me but Jimswhimz year number two starts tomorrow. I have a few untold stories from my summer yet to address. I have photos from 1919 of my grandparents to unveil. I have a stack of tickets to events I’ve recently attended to tell stories about. I have tickets for events yet to be held to look forward to. I’ll be happy if I pick up a few more subscribers and I’ll be delighted if there are days were I get record numbers of views, but mostly I’ll be happy if I stay the course and post from the heart as often as it feels right.

I have a few new ideas to unleash including a potential second blog focused exclusively on fiction stories with a little help from any readers that might be out there. I have a novel/screenplay project in progress with a friend who has a great idea but needs a little help in keeping it closer to the mainstream. I think I have many words at these fingertips and only hope that the day to day life situations will continue to inspire. For those of you who have taken a “peek” in the last 365 days I thank you. For those who will join on in the next year I welcome you. For those who touch my life in ways that make me want to write, I revere you. Until my next post which should be soon…

I remain,

Jim and his Whimz

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

