Being October 3rd

Originally I was thinking that I would lead off JimsWhimz year number 2 with a follow up post on Montauk. I have a mostly written draft about my Grandpa Herbert but I just don’t feel the groove to finish it tonight. I’m a bit under the weather and I just woke up from a three hour nap on a night that I would have otherwise be working. I’m currently watching a re-run of The Bob Newhart show on Me TV and trying to decide whether or not I should drop Santonio Holmes and pick up Domenic Hixon on my primary fantasy football team. I found this awesome website with funny pictures of Jay Cutler photoshopped to be smoking. Very serious matters here indeed! It’s far from my typical Tuesday night and of course then there is the little matter of tomorrow being October 3rd.

Fifteen years ago on October 3rd, 1997 my father passed away. I was teaching a karate class at Daley Bicentennial when my Mom called me and told me that the end was near. I finished the class and headed out to their home in Naperville arriving shortly after he died. I had already had my final moments with him a few days earlier and I think that’s the way I wanted it to be. Maybe I was just avoiding facing the end. I’m not exactly sure but either way I have no regrets. Even though he had been sick for a long time it’s the date that he died that you remember the most. My Mom and I still exchange calls and cards and memories on or around the date.

Five years ago on October 3rd, 2007 I went to a Genesis concert with my then friend now fiancee. We had for some time been walking on a precarious path between friendship and more than friendship. I was full well aware that it was the ten year anniversary of my father’s death. The events and the emotions of that night led us into our first kiss which clearly set in motion a series of life changing events for both of us. Here we are five years later planning our wedding and not surprisingly some major decisions need to be made tomorrow on October 3rd, 2012.

I’m not sure how one date winds up becoming such significant player in a life and I’m not sure what tomorrow will bring but I am sure of two things: 1) I think whatever is supposed to happen will and 2) I’m probably going to write about it soon!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

