Look Ma No Hairballs!

My fiancee says I should start a Detroit sports blog based on my love for all things sports and Detroit. I say I’m really not that guy. Mostly I like to leave it a hobby and an outlet. Somehow having to write about it on a recurring basis might make it seem like work. That being said, every once in a while I reserve the right to take the topic of my Whimz to that place.

I had an unusual and remarkable weekend. I somehow secured the ability to buy seats in the Jack Roth Stadium Club at the Big House for $75 a ticket. Mind you rich fat cat alumni pay $3000 a year for the right to then buy these tickets for the season at $75 each. I got them for one game at face value no annual stipend. To have a padded seat with arms and a back and shelter over your head may not seem like a big deal in most cases, but at the Big House it’s like finding the Holy Grail. My buddy Rob sarcastically said, “Ya Jim please don’t ever get these seats again!” It was the least I could do for the guy who took me to the M vs. Ohio State game last year.

There was a lot of driving involved in this weekend. Driving in a heavy rain to boot. It wasn’t as bad as it might have been since I was in a rental Lincoln MKX that I got from a friend at Enterprise for a ridiculous price. So clearly I’m already having a pretty nice weekend but then add to it that the Wolverines win 45-0. The Tigers miraculously overcome a Papa Grande meltdown in the 9th to win 6-4 in the 12th as I watch on another friend’s rented couch as the night turns into morning and I’m nearly speechless. All too often I’m used to my teams developing as my ex-wife used to call  hairballs – aka the big choke!

As I got home today I figured my luck had run out as I watched the Tivo delay of the Lion’s game. I mean how does a team that takes 16 penalties, drops countless passes and tackles poorly wind up winning 26-23 in overtime? I have no idea but I’ll take it. Then long after game 2 of the ALCS ended I started watching it on yet another Tivo delay with no expectation of making it a 4 for 4 weekend. I mean it never happens that way right? I watched a nail biter at regular speed and fast forward at times and wondered whether a close game at the end would leave the Tiger’s bullpen exposed yet again. And then in an amazing turn of events my team got the benefit of a questionable call instead of the shaft. A pitcher who has been suspect at times pitched two scoreless innings in relief and all of a sudden I was 4-0 for a Detroit sports weekend and the Tigers were heading back to New York with a 2-0 series lead.

So as luck would have it I long ago secured tickets to the Lion’s vs Seahawks game on October 28th. When I noticed the pre-determined World Series schedule a few weeks back I noticed games 3 and 4 would be in the American league city based on the National league’s victory in the All-Star game. Those games would be played on October 27th and 28th. I figured if that happened hotel room demand would be high and I immediately reserved a room at the Hilton on Brush street in Detroit which is two blocks from both Comerica Park and Ford Field. I’ve never seen a World Series game and I’m not sure exactly where I might get tickets from, but I’m thinking about it a lot right now. Can you say “Hello Law of Attraction?”

And a thought for Tiger’s manager Jim Leyland. ALCS stats review:

Jose Valverde 2/3rd innings pitched ERA 54.00

All Tiger’s pitchers not named Valverde 20 and 1/3rd innings pitched ERA 0.00

Don’t even think about it!!! I’m just saying…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look Ma No Hairballs!

  1. Pingback: Go Blue, My Style | That Redhead

Leave a Reply

