There’s just something about baseball…

I rank my sports passions in this order. Football #1. Hockey #1A. College Football #1C. Baseball #4. Basketball #5. Etc. and so on…but at the end of the day and when it comes to the post season there is just something about baseball that is magical. Mind you this has been a pretty amazing playoff year, even if my beloved Tigers were not in the mix the American pastime has reached all new levels in terms of my attention in this 2012 post season.

Football playoff games are epic. Stanley Cup 7 game series are wars. But baseball playoff games somehow take us back to the simple and wonderful in a way that nothing else can! Tonight I went to the Tilted Kilt on Wabash to chat with a friend and watch Game 4 of the ALCS. Never mind that our delightful waitress named Stephanie had a flat belly and a low rider kilt as part of her uniform, it was the game on the big screen TV that captivated me the most. When Miggy hit a two run home run in the bottom of the 3rd I couldn’t have been less interested in her flat belly than I would have been as a 10 year old boy in my backyard with a chalk rectangle drawn on my brick chimney. Remember those day guys? When you used to draw an imaginary strike zone on a wall and throw a tennis ball at it pretending that you were Pedro Martinez, or Ron Guidry, or Bob Gibson, or Sandy Koufax, or Justin Verlander. Doesn’t matter the time frame…it transcends time!

So there I was tonight like a little kid. I ended up at my place of employment (good old Joe’s) as Phil Coke (previously mortal and now immortal) pitched the bottom of the 9th. I had a glass of wine and was waiting for a carryout order of fresh Alaskan King crab legs (not much like my little league days, eh?). I was chatting with friends, my fiancee and co-workers along the way. And I felt like a 9 year old boy sitting on a hassock in front of a black and white TV hoping for just one more out and a trip to the World Series. The only difference this time? It’s not only a TV watching hope but a realistic wish that I will actually be there to see it in person for the first time in my life. I love Detroit! I love the experience! And mostly I just totally love baseball especially in October. I’m like a 7 year old boy in Mrs. Loughlin’s 2nd grade class watching the Tigers vs. the A’s on the 1972 ALCS and I couldn’t be any more excited!

Go Tigers! Go me! Go to all of you who played T-ball, little league or pony baseball. It’s a American tradition like no other. There IS  just something about baseball…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

