Childhood dreams…

I have been to a Super Bowl, I have been to a NBA finals game, I have been to a Stanley Cup potential closeout game, I have been to a number of other significant sporting events in my life, but I have never been to a World Series baseball game! I believe that streak will end in the next three days when I very likely get a chance to attend game #3 of the World Series between the Giants and the Tigers at Comerica Park this Saturday.

Tonight didn’t go as planned in that I expected Justin Verlander to lock down a game #1 victory but in the grand scheme of things I think that it doesn’t even matter. My goal was to attend a World Series game without spending crazy StubHub prices and at the 23rd hour I think my chance came through. I got a call today from a contact who said to me that he could get me World Series tickets in Detroit, but I would have to take all three games in Detroit in order to get them. Oh pardon me for my feigned horrible displeasure!  So you mean I have to enjoy tickets to games #3 and #4 for sure and if it goes to game #5 I have to decide to stay over and  attend or sell them? I think I can live with that problem!

In the entire history of my connections through my job this undoubtedly takes the cake. You see I’m already in Detroit for the Lion’s game on Sunday. I have a hotel room within blocks of the stadiums since I booked it months ago. And I now have access to World Series tickets to either enjoy on my own (which I will do at least once) or sell them  if I need to.

When I was in my young I vaguely remember a chance to go to Tiger’s stadium to watch Jack Morris out duel somebody on the Blue Jays to make the postseason. I suspect it was 1987 since there isn’t a lot of history there. Right now I am only waiting for that Fed-ex package in the mail and hoping to see what I expect to see in the form of my tickets to paradise. In the land of childhood dreams there are a number of worthy entries. The World Series is very near at the top of the list if not totally at the top of the list. 36 hours to rental car via Enterpise = Super. 278 miles to Detroit = not too bad. Room at the HGI on Brush Street = a good vision a few weeks ahead of time. World Series tickets games to  #3 and #4 = Priceless!!! A childhood dream. I am so lucky….

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

