Basket Case

I haven’t had what I would call a really high stress day since the days leading up to the engagement party. That ended yesterday. In my last post I was waiting for the envelope. If you’re not sure what I mean just click back from my home page. It’s a short read. The envelope finally came but not without a lot of imagination of possible disasters by the person with his hands on this keyboard right now.

Mostly I’m an expect everything to work out fine person. Really I am. For some reason I just couldn’t relax about getting these World Series tickets on time to leave for Detroit. A couple of nights of fitful sleep and an active imagination can do lots of things in Jim’s strange little head. I think it was partly because I had to work my energy so hard to attract these tickets that I just couldn’t wait to cross the finish line. So how did it happen then you ask?

At some point I had up to a dozen different people working on helping me get World series tickets. The list included a lawyer for the Major league baseball players union, one of the top 5 at Tribune corporation in Chicago, a friend of Erin Andrews that I know, a horse owner that is personal friends with Jm Leland and Joe Torre, a guy at the NFL network and so on. These have been my hardest get to date.  In the end it was a very smart and quiet radio guy that I just happened to see on Wednesday at Joe’s this week when nearly all hope had already been lost. I said to my buddy, we’ll call him Stu, “Do you have any connections that can lead me to World Series tickets?” Stu said he’d check it out and he called me back within hours of heading back to the office. See his idea was not to contact people in Detroit or San Francisco because they were getting pummeled with requests. Instead he contacts a guy in St. Louis who will have a ticket allotment for being in the NLCS but probably doesn’t need the tickets. Genius I say! Stu says, “Jimmy I’ve got good news and bad news. I can definitely help you get tickets but you have to buy four tickets to all three games in order to get them…about $2400.” My first reaction was “Gulp!” About three seconds later my brain flashed “Payday!!!” We can go to the first two games just the two of us and sell the other 8 tickets for a very likely profit. I ask Stu if he is okay with that plan and he says, “Jimmy you do whatever you want with the tickets I hope you make enough to pay for your whole trip.” Sweet!

So now I’m on to convincing that little redhead of mine that it is a good idea to execute this plan. Needless to say she is pragmatic and a little bit nervous but she agrees. I say to her “There’s no way World Series tickets will sell below face value. It”s the World Series!” Later that night I check StubHub for pricing again and it looks good. About $400 for uppers and $750-1000 for lowers. My one concern is that there are over 5000 for all three games still available.

Friday morning I wake up and teach yoga. Good thing or I might have paced myself down to the knee stubs in waiting. The Fed Ex truck does not arrive at our apartment before CJ has to leave for her appointment. I convince her to call the doorman after her appointment and see if we got an envelope and if the answer is yes that she take the train home from Lincoln Park to the South Loop to check it before going out to lunch back in River North. Isn’t love grand? Of course if the envelope isn’t there then disaster plans must be enacted. I email my buddy Stu and ask hime to contact the people in the Cardinal’s organization to get a tracking number “just in case”.  Well by the time he gets me the tracking number though the envelope has arrived the tickets are real and I’m done worrying about getting the tickets. Now it’s on to worrying about selling the tickets. And guess what? Prices are falling rapidly.

My concern about the large inventory of tickets was warranted and it looks like a fire sale has started. I was talking to my buddy named Windows at Joe’s on Friday and one of his best friends is a ticket broker I know as well. We call him and he says I should bring the tickets over to his office and let him scan them in and list them but take them with me to Detroit so I can sell them either in person or on line. So it’s back home to pick up the envelope (have I mentioned my blood pressure yet?) and then run up to the ticket agents office on the west side. He says to try to try to be the lowest price by a couple of bucks within three sections and they’ll sell fast. He calculates a price and wouldn’t you know it by the time I even drove home from his office he had already sold Saturday and Sunday.

Whew! Now we just have to wait and see if there is a game #5 and if there isn’t I’ll be very disappointed but will get a full refund. If there is they should sell for at least what the previous one’s did in the hand’s of my expert ticket friend in Chicago.

In the end I depart for Detroit from New Buffalo this morning with the two tickets I need for the Tiger’s game #3 WS, Lions vs. Seahawks Sunday afternoon and Tiger’s game #4 Sunday night. Like a good Londoner I did my best to “Keep calm and carry on” with the end result being what I’m sure will be a memorable weekend.

More later…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

