Update on Conquering Haste and a Few Other Lessons

Well it’s been about 72 hours since I published my last post about Instant Gratification and in my promised test I have not yet looked at any stats to see if or how many views I have gotten. If you have no idea what I’m doing or why you can read back here and see what I’m talking about. Of course I’m hoping that I’ve gotten a solid number of views and maybe even been referred or re-blogged but I’m content with not knowing for the moment.

I also got a nice little lesson in the art of letting go in the last couple of days. You probably know from my writings (or from knowing me in person) that I am a big time Law of Attraction/Power of Positive Thinking guy. Not just in the “I read The Secret and liked it” variety but in the “I’ve read everything I can get my hands on about it” and the “I believe that all the great avatars, leaders, mystics and teachers in our history understood it at a high level and used it to a greater good” variety. I won’t go on right now on my thoughts about Jesus, Buddha or Mahavatar Babaji right now but trust me I give this stuff a lot of thought in my meditations.

imagesSo my little lesson in the art of letting go came in the form of me not getting tickets to the DJ Kaskade show last night. We really wanted to go see our favorite DJ in an awesome small venue but for some reason there was a lingering barrier that I just couldn’t breakthrough. Countless other times in the last five years I have been able to attract in the connection needed to find the specific ticket I wanted. I’m talking Madonna, Peter Gabriel, Hawks, Bears, Wings, University of Michigan, last year’s World Series and even the Super Bowl. It’s remarkable and someday I’ll blog a little more about some of these adventures in the Law of Attraction but for now let’s just suffice it to say that this time it just didn’t happen.

There were a whole bunch of reasons why we shouldn’t have gone to the show. It would have been a really late night in the middle of a really long week. CJ didn’t have a change of clothes with her because of an early meeting at work. She would have had to rush out of a night shift and I would have had to go after teaching a yoga class that ended at 9:30 p.m. I would have had to decide between giving up my 8:00 a.m. massage on Thursday morning or going on 3 hours sleep all day. I’m trying not to drink at all on weekdays. That alone seems to be enough to block the probability but that didn’t stop me from doing my clearing obstacles exercises. I went home after my lunch shift and got a change of clothes for each of us. I listened to my favorite DJ Kaskade music and even did an all DJ Kaskade playlist for my Yoga Sculpt class that night. I changed my massage appointment to Friday morning just in case. The way I saw it was I it wasn’t going to happen unless I cleared all my physical and mental obstacles. Obviously I left at least one out there because my last potential contact texted me at about 8:30 p.m. last night and said his friend who knew the owner of the club very well never got back to him.

I was totally cool with the result. CJ came home. We ate Tostadas. We watched a tape of The Soup on the DVR and crashed on the couch. It was the first time we had a quiet moment together in five days so I guess the energy of that needing to happen was more powerful than the energy of my desire to say I saw DJ Kaskade at Smartbar last night.

I’m grateful I got this lesson about letting go. It’s pretty insignificant compared to the other things that I or other people have had to let go of for sure, but it’s not the size of the lesson that matters but rather only the result, right? Now let me publish this babble and not look and see if anybody reads it.

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

