My Gratitude List

gratitudeSo here it is a list of most of the things that I am grateful for in the last two weeks. In the interest of time I’ll dispense with the typing of “I’m so grateful for” on each item but it doesn’t hurt if you add it in you brain as you read it. My apologies in advance for anyone or anything I might have overlooked. Here goes.

I’m so grateful for…

…the nice lady who I had never met that walked up to the desk and said “just put him on my account as a free guest” to the desk clerk and saved me the $10 daily use fee at the Pekin Rec center.

…the chance to see the Bruce Lee documentary that inspired me to dust off my katas which I have now been practicing every other day for the last two weeks.

…time with my sister-in-laws to be away from our own homes and learning and growing together more each day.

…grandparents. I don’t have any of my own left so borrowing Christiana’s is pretty cool. Elders have such great stories and plenty of time to tell them.

…local people. Some think that going to more rural areas is a drag. I totally love it. It reminds me of simplicity and purity. Where common things can bring contentment if you let it. People were so nice in Pekin.

…cheap rental cars, safe travels and having a travel partner that enjoys splitting time between good conversation and quiet music.

…King spa. I discovered the place about two months ago and it has become an integral part of my mental wellness management. A few hours there once every ten days or so is magical.

…the so many wonderful teachers I get to take class with on an ongoing basis. Ashley, Jenny, Jessica, Tanya, Dominika, Leigh and many others have been a part of the last two weeks in superb ways.

…Celina. Her hands are some of the most gifted healing hands I have ever experienced.

…51% off. As usual we have eaten our fair share of meals at Lettuce properties in the last two weeks and the discount is so appreciated.

…my job which is almost never like having to work. Almost.

…my Wednesday night Yoga Sculpt class. They are such fun people and they inspire me push myself every week and be creative in my practice and teaching.

…the walking tour of Graceland cemetery and the amazing stories told by Richard who will now officially be the officiant at our wedding.

…late night sushi at Hub 51 which is always the perfect end to a long day.

…overtime hockey during the Stanley Cup playoffs. Doesn’t even matter to me anymore if my teams are in it or if they win. I just love the all or nothing intensity so much. No better sport in the world.

…the perfect tribute to Kregg’s Dad with a day of family and friends, food, a bonfire and a few drinks.

…the fact that my ex-wife came to the funeral and had a chance to pay respects and see old friends.

…the two wonderful roofs I have to live under. My cottage and my apartment share way less of my time than either deserve but they are always so welcoming when I decide to stop by for a while.

…Chicago. Really is there any other place that would be a better place to come back to on a regular basis and call home. I think not.

…our picnic last Sunday in the garden, a bottle of rose and the walk through the Picasso exhibit on a Spring day. Couldn’t be any more like a day in Paris than that without being in Paris.

…the many mentors I have found that help me refine my way of thinking and positive visualization.

…the tangible results of using that way of thinking for example the truly amazing story of how we got the wedding tent we really wanted even when all hope seemed lost.

….and to Peggy Murphy for making the above possible by caring enough and thinking outside the box. So love her!

…ham and eggers. They have saved me countless times in these busy two weeks. Only CJ will get that but it’s better that way.

….the chance to work with people you can sit down and talk to like adults instead of playing passive-aggressive control games. Our managers at the restaurant are the shit!

….my memory foam bed which I probably see way too little of but it makes me better than I otherwise would be.

…all my healers and wellness team managers from all your different modalities and styles. You make this life possible.

…all the people who ask about the wedding plans with genuine interest and to all those who listen.

…for the fact that I get to interact with literally thousands of people every week. What an honor and a privilege to be able to be a part of so many people’s days.

…meeting my new friend to be JBP. I have a strong intuition that this is going to lead to something really good without worrying at all about how to define it.

…the re-connection with my very important Key West folks and the inspiration we get to bring to each other’s lives.

…half way point movies with suburban friends and theaters with wine!

…friends who call with questions or for help instead of not calling at all.

…my oldest friends who need not be named but know who they are and how important they are to me and how much I need them to get through the everyday stuff.

…finding out the gap between our wedding budget and our finances is a little bit smaller than I thought it might have been.

…a night at home tonight and a movie and home cooked food for the first time in two weeks. How fantastic the simple is in the grand scheme.

…the so many Joe’s customers who have become special parts of my life and in many cases dear friends. The value you add to my world is immeasurable.

…Mom’s. I have pretty much the best I could have ever drawn up in a my wildest dreams. In addition I have been lucky enough to have some great bonus Mom’s from both past life experience and future that have and will continue to influence me.

…a forum to share and the fact that this blog exists and is always there for me when I need it and never minds when I’m not.

Now that felt amazing. I may do this more often!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Gratitude List

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    I could really connect to your comment about how old friends get you through life. It’s been quiet and at times very sad without David,but my friends have cared about me and helped me mentally to survive. Thank you Jim for your amazing commentary…Diane

Leave a Reply

