I Can or I Can’t Get No Satisfaction? That is the Question!

With apologies to Shakespeare and Mick Jagger on the play on words in the title…it’s really a matter of expectation rather than situation that determines whether or not we can get satisfaction, right? Numerous times in the last couple of weeks I have had the opportunity to play that game in my head about whether or not I was getting Satisfaction. Pray tell you say?

0-4I got word a couple of weeks ago from my mechanic that my old car was pretty much dead. I knew it needed to be replaced anyways but the timing never seemed right yet. Minor dissatisfaction. I called my friend Paulette who introduced me to Phil and Nancy Resnick of the Resnick Auto group. They took such good care of me, made me feel like family and helped me get a great used Lexus. Major satisfaction!

I fired my parking garage last week (a future blog for sure) because I was tired of the terrible service they provided and the fact that they were raising their prices. I contested the increased charges for the last two months but ultimately lost the battle. No Satisfcation. Then I called the property manager for our landlord who connected me to a different garage that was willing to match my previous rate in a garage even closer to Joe’s. Satisfaction!

I got a terrible appraisal on my house last month. So terrible in fact that it blew up any opportunity I might have had for a refinance. I was really hoping to refi so I could pull out a few dollars to help with the wedding expenses. The appraisal was unfair and I’m still in conversation with the appraisal company about the exorbitant fee they charged me for an appraisal I can’t even use. Lack of Satisfaction. The failed refi attempt led to CJ and I sitting down and sorting out the wedding budget and realizing that things are in better shape than we originally thought. We trimmed a few things out and got lucky with a potential deal on a bigger tent. Satisfaction!

EO_Bosathouse_rose_wineLast night we had an super dinner with friends that we have had a hard time finding time to get together with lately. We sat in the front window area of Paris Club, drank rose, enjoyed the breeze and ate through numerous courses of delicious food. By all standards it should have been enough to complete anyones week and send them home sated and content. But of course I longed for just a little bit more. You see the Rolling Stones are in town and ThatRedhead of mine has not had the pleasure that I have had in seeing them play live so I’ve been stewing about it all week. I’ve been watching ticket prices on line and talking to friends who are brokers and customers who went to the show on Tuesday. The consensus was that tickets were likely in surplus and selling below face value on site. We finished our dinner and shot over the United Center leaving our friends to finish up the wine.

One of the customers I talked to in the restaurant yesterday told me that he thought tickets were selling for as low as $50 outside the UC on Tuesday night so that’s where I thought I would start. Shortly after CJ dropped me off I found a guy selling two tickets. He told me where the tickets were and asked me how much I was looking to spend. I told him I was probably just going to go home but if I could buy tickets for around $50 I would. He told me they were $250 face value which I knew. I then did the “I’m just going to walk away” thing we do when we are bartering. A few minutes later I had given him $100 for two tickets and I was calling CJ to find out where she was parking. I knew that 0-3there was a chance these tickets were fakes but I guess I was willing to take the chance. I looked this guy in the eye, I asked him his name, I asked him if these tickets were legit and he shook my hand. As you can probably guess by now they were in fact fakes. Some might say I was getting taken. I would say I was testing human nature and the Universe and even myself.

I’m sad that we didn’t get to see the show but I’m really more sad for CJ because she had to take that ride of emotion from not going, to going, to not going again. I hate to see her disappointed. If we hadn’t even tried it would be easier perhaps than having had that moment of excitement. Very dissatisfying you might say.

In the end we came home. We curled up on the couch in our delightfully air conditioned apartment and watched “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. Believe it or not neither of us had ever seen the movie before and we’d been talking about it for quite some time. We ate popsicles and talked about how cool New York must have been back in the day. I’m out a hundred bucks that I won’t even remember in a few days. I had an experience that prompted my first blog in weeks. I got to see classic movie instead of a classic band. Most importantly I got a night with my favorite person and maybe just maybe I learned a little bit about not pushing too hard. Maybe next time I’ll just finish up the wine with our friends in hand instead of chasing a little more of life’s excitement in the bush.

For that little life’s reminder I’ll say that I indeed got me some Satisfaction!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Can or I Can’t Get No Satisfaction? That is the Question!

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    I got the same problem when I went to refinance my interest rate on my condo…..no satisfaction… Diane

Leave a Reply

