Instant Karma/Delayed Response

So if you’ve been following along you have heard about our failed attempt to get into the Rolling Stones concert last Friday night and our escapade with the counterfeit tickets. In the end we were out $100 and instead had a lovely night at home watching old movies.

It’s amazing how quickly the scales can balance if you let them. On Saturday we were pretty much over our disappointment of missing the show as we spent a lovely day with 0lunch at Hub 51, cleaning around the house and working out. When we decided that we should stay in for dinner and cook I planned a trip to Whole Foods to get a simple piece of fish along with a veggie and some redskin potatoes. Before we left on our grocery shopping I stumbled across an old Whole Foods gift card a customer had given me years ago that I had totally forgotten about. Wonder what the value was? You guessed it. $100! Instant karma gonna get you?

So I decided that we would buy some shellfish, some halibut and a bunch of other awesome ingredients and make a homemade cioppino with quinoa cakes and fresh green beans. The meal was fantastic. We had a spectacular Saturday night in and we watched a hilarious 90’s movie I’d never seen called Clueless.

0-3Sometimes I’m clueless as to why things happen the way they do but I’d say in this case the Universe evened the scales in a short time frame and I couldn’t have been more happy. And actually cioppino is really easy to make with a few good ingredients. The quinoa cakes were my attempt to avoid the temptation to dip giant hunks of sourdough bread into the delicious broth (gluten fearing people we have become). Maybe in my next blog I’ll share the recipe or maybe I’ll just accept that it was a moment in time and a perfect finish to an interesting story that went down in a way we never expected.

On Tuesday night I wound up at Double Door to watch a friend’s local band. There were rumors that the Rolling Stones and maybe even Nirvana might play a surprise show later that night at the same venue. If I had any unresolved feelings from the Friday night episode I might have stayed really late only to find out the rumor was only that…a rumor. As it was I was content with whatever happened and I went home at 10:30 p.m. and got a good rest.

Ah Satisfaction!

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Instant Karma/Delayed Response

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    Dinner sounded great! Sometimes things just happen for the best. Looking forward to Saturday shower. Diane

Leave a Reply

