Divinely Guided Weekend

Oh the train. There is something so centering about being on a train. Gliding across Mother Earth along the rails knowing that there is a curvature that you never really feel or see. Unlike early explorers we have the benefit of knowing that the earth is a globe not a flat surface, but you’d never feel it when you are gliding across the rails flat and stable and grounded.

So many things on my mind since my last post which again was all too long ago. I always hope that I will get back to the keyboard during the year of my wedding planning year. It seldom if ever happens. I accept but I can’t help but think what if I had been posting every couple of days to chronicle and celebrate the upcoming event.

This weekend was as about as perfect as a weekend could be. Maybe your weekend is Saturday and Sunday like mine, maybe it’s Tuesday and Wednesday like so many of my co-workers. Whatever it is just having the chance to get out of you costume routine can be so enriching if we allow it to be. Too often we have a plan for our time away too. I can be guilty of that way too often. Un-willing to let go and trust in the beauty of not knowing. I always want to know what the plan is. What will happen. Who we will see and on what schedule. This weekend was a lesson in trusting the art of not knowing.

I was reading a blurb from Eckhart Tolle recently that discussed that exact concept. It resonated with me but I could only really experience it when my ego and my inner planner was willing to let go. My plan for this weekend was to drive out to my place in Michigan on Friday night. Have a full day of needed yardwork in the sun. Have a dinner with a bunch of friends that night and then drive back to Chicago early on Sunday for a family birthday party before sending my sweetie off to work and catching a yoga class. Pretty much none of those things happened and I couldn’t be more delighted!

See I got home from work on Friday and started my usual pre-wedding workout routine. Shortly thereafter I got a text from my fiancee aka That Redhead and she was taking longer than she thought in the suburbs. In the past this text would have ignited a response of extreme, but on this Friday night it didn’t even seem to matter. It was as if I expected it and I was surprisingly content to change the plans and have a night at home alone and the we could drive out to Michigan tomorrow morning.  Guided from above I might say?

Many more details to follow. A special movie. A quiet nap. A dinner out in a place we never go to but with other history.

The best part is the not knowing and clearly you too are not knowing. It’s a gift indeed!

More to follow…

jim

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

