First Thoughts from Jamaica 2013

I’m settling into my fourth day of the honeymoon. The aftermath of energy from the wedding is still palpable even with a few days of rum, sun and distance. The quiet 0-2morning surf is the only sound at 6 am except of course for a little Bob Marley humming out of the x-mini speaker hooked up to my ipod. Later tonight we’ll flip on the TV in our room for the first time to watch the U of M vs. ND game. We are so far away and in other ways still so connected to the grid. The first time I came to Jamaica I didn’t even own a cell phone, my in home computer had a 1 gigabyte hard drive and I had a Sony discman. Here I sit 23 years later blogging live time from my Macbook on the beach with my 32 gig iphone and ipod at my side. I’m not sure it necessarily makes it better, just different.

I’m brewing up the post that will be the story of the wedding and the week leading up to that day, but the enormity of the story leaves me still grappling to get my arms much less my brain around the task. There are so many nuances to the event and frankly I just needed a few days to digest and be away from my thoughts. In about 30 minutes I’ll go down to the water sports hut and sign Christiana up for a free SCUBA lesson. I’m still undecided on my part. My ears aren’t always the best in the water so I’ve always used that as an excuse. Maybe now is a different time in that way too.

Jamaica-485x728This island nation has a constant vibration not like anyplace else I’ve ever traveled. It’s not just the fact that I’m on vacation that makes life here in the moment more in the moment. It’s quite a bit more than that. It’s a place where respect means more than admiration. It’s an undeniable way of life, a pulse and it’s present everywhere . Each time I lather Christiana up with SPF 85 sunscreen she says, “I hope I’m a Rasta in my next life so I don’t have to do this.” In all the best ways you already are a Rasta soul my wife…you already are!

Good to be back at the keyboard. More later…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Thoughts from Jamaica 2013

  1. bigben88 says:

    Very well said my friend. I’ve always wanted to go to Jamaica. I think you’ve inspired me to act…
    I imagine Deena would be totally down for it as well. When you get back, I’ll hit you up for some recommendations on how to do it.

    Your wedding was so amazing! I’m glad the great energy has extended through to your honeymoon. You guys deserve all the peace, happiness and fun!
    Look forward to seeing you back in the States… Or if we’re very lucky, maybe one day Jamaica in the future? Best, jk

  2. Diane Onixt says:

    My son is now at the Michigan vs. ND game guess who he’s rooting for (hint…a lot of our money went there-its blue and yellow) You sound very mellow. I look forward to the wedding pictures. How is your mom? Diane

Leave a Reply

