Transitions Continue

Day 10 and my world back home is a picture that I can’t even bring into my head without a few moments of careful thought, so why bother. This reminds me of the feeling I had when we went to Europe two years ago. So totally removed from everyday routine even with the social media and email connection I often wish I didn’t even have. As I mentioned in my last post this is for certain the first time I have been the second most Unknownactive person on a vacation. My newly appointed daredevil wife is off on her fifth open water scuba dive. Yesterday she jumped off a 45-foot cliff at Rick’s café. This is the same woman that was afraid of water above her waist just last year and has had a lifelong fear of heights. I would say she is emerging in a way that has long been dormant and I am certain that the events of the six months and most significantly the final week before the wedding have left an indelible mark on her spirit that will effect her positively for the rest of her life.

I sit idly by reading, writing and taking a few photos when I can. One of Christiana’s long distance friends in New York sent her a message the day after the wedding wishing us a good honeymoon and reminding her that the honeymoon is a time for transitioning into our new roles in each other’s lives. After five plus years of living together it would seem that much of that transition had already taken place, yet there have been so many other currents that have carried us on this trip that serve as reminders to both of us that we are perpetually on a river of energy that carries us to various places, sometimes together and sometimes apart. We continue to come more to the middle ground as our souls merge even more into a oneness.

Of the many nice things that were said about us at our wedding reception, I think one of the most touching was when one of my best men tandem said “As time went on you could see less of two people when you looked and Jim and CJ and more of a collective spirit.” It’s an interesting dichotomy that in order to grow closer together you have to be willing and confident in the areas where you grow individually and at times separately. If this trip has taught us anything it has certainly taught us that with a resounding definitiveness and at a level beyond what we previously understood.

Last night I got a little down on myself for maybe not doing enough on the trip. Not jumping. Not learning SCUBA. Not a lot of anything really. It’s an adjustment for me to be “Out-Jimed” from an activity level and not a totally comfortable adjustment at that. Then this morning I got up at sunrise and went to the beach, my current and favorite practice studio and I did my thing. On this day I swam about 30 minutes and then did some vinyasa yoga mixed in with some karate forms. I even re-taught myself an advanced kata that I had not practiced in many years. With a little help from technology ala Youtube and about 50 repetitions I worked myself in to a sweat that detoxified not only my body but also my mind of the negative thinking that I let creep in last night. Then I sat and meditated for about 30 minutes and remembered that my transition at this time is more about not doing.

As we walked back from breakfast this morning we saw a lady walking on the sidewalk waving her arms around and complaining to her husband about something that had just happened. I have no idea what she could be so worked up about in such an idyllic setting. Christiana said to me “I wonder if we’ll be more immune to negative energy when we get back from this trip?” It’s a good question indeed. The return to our daily lives will certainly put us back into a place to have to encounter the challenges of negative energy both on our own counts and at the hands of others. As with everything the answer will come from within. The transition continues…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transitions Continue

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    Beautiful and elegant……Diane

Leave a Reply

