Four Wednesdays

Tonight I taught a Yoga Sculpt class on the rooftop studio at the Corepower Yoga on Roosevelt Street. It was a uniquely high energy experience in the thunderstorms and the balance between the serenity of the practice and the power of nature was always present. Not often do the forces of peace and chaos collide in such a powerful way…

A week ago tonight I was watching Jamaica’s top steel drum band perform on our resort in Negril after a quiet dinner. I have seen steel drum bands in many settings but never have I seen a group of performers and athletes meld together quite like I did on this night. We were in awe of the whole experience. It was a display of rhythm and human possibility on the highest level…

Two weeks ago tonight I was settling into the second night of my honeymoon while lying on a hammock under the stars and the moon during a romantic bonfire while an acoustic guitar player serenaded us with mellow versions of Reggae tunes as the night wound down with a glass of rum. There are few moments in life that compare to that “just starting a vacation” emotion and after all that had happened in the week previously I must say I don’t know that I had ever felt more at peace or content…

Three weeks ago tonight we were mourning the loss of Christiana’s grandmother and eating dinner a much needed dinner at a Red Lobster in Gurnee while sitting at the bar after driving a cargo van full of our wedding supplies including wine and books and baggo boards up to Tir Na Nog estate in Lake Villa. The exhaustion and emotion of the moment had never been at quite such a high in my memorable adult life…

Four weeks ago tonight I was teaching my Yoga Sculpt class on a 100 degree steamy Chicago night. It was my last class before my wedding sabbatical and many of my regulars came out to wish me well and tell me how much they would miss me while I was gone for a month…

Mileposts…Finish lines…It’s amazing how four measuring sticks in a 28 day stretch can be so significant or so different. I am blessed to feel so alive both with joy and sorrow and pleasure and pain. Some might rather avoid the roller coaster. I’d say let the peaks and valleys remind me that I am totally alive!

Four Wednesdays. Just some other days in a life…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four Wednesdays

  1. Monique Hunt says:

    Lovely, thank you for sharing. Because of people like you and posts like these, I am reminded that my life is full, and all is well.

Leave a Reply

