I Ate a Cheeseburger

I ate it last week actually. I almost blogged about it then but I didn’t so my blog dormancy period extended another week. I believe it’s at 37 days now. You see I understand that eating a cheeseburger is hardly newsworthy and barely even blog worthy. Except for this part. It was a mind-bending and mind-stretching, epic cheeseburger in more than just the way it tasted. It was a month long awaited, personal revolution, reminder of what to be grateful for….blah, blah, blah. Let’s get onto the story.

About a month ago I had a weekday off with my wife which is rarity of a special kind. Actually I got up and taught two yoga classes from 6:00 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. and then I came home instead of going to my day job, but that’s about as close to having a weekday off as I’ll get so it was still pretty special. When I came home I suggested to my wife That Redhead that we go to Kuma’s Corner for cheesburgers. Or maybe Hot Doug’s for tubed meat. You see I’d never been to either place and I really wanted to go but it’s always so busy on weekends. My suggestion was met with at the very least a reasonable amount of resistance and at the very most great consternation. Cheeseburgers and hot dogs don’t agree to well with mostly healthy, mostly gluten-free, mostly dairy-free diets. We wound up walking to a local breakfast establishment called Yolk and eating eggs after a mid level disagreement.

On the way to breakfast that morning we were continuing our discussion as we always do after we have a difference of opinion and I said something like this, “It’s not so much about the cheeseburger as it is about being free enough with my time to do stuff that I can’t normally do. I’ve been wanting to go to Kuma’s for 5 years now but I haven’t. You know why? Because my busy everyday life always gets in the f@#*ing way! It’s not a big deal but somehow going to Kuma’s and eating a cheesburger was going to be my little mini-revolution today.” She totally understood on every level. One of the many reasons I love her so well.

Last week I had a weekday off again. It was a well designed weekday off following a crazy fun night on the town with friends from out of state that didn’t get to come to our wedding. I figured it would be a late night with much revelry so I treated myself to the following day off. I can’t cover the details of the night out but let’s just say we slept until noon and then spent about an hour in bed after that re-capping the better moments of the night before. When we finally got rolling to pump some food and caffeine into our sorry bodies wifey said “Are we going to Yolk for breakfast?” I replied, “I was thinking cheeseburgers?” This time my suggestion was met with rousing approval!

We thought for a minute about driving to Kuma’s but you see ability to drive was still a question mark at that point and right next to the Yolk in our neighborhood there’s this little place called “Five Guys”. The last time we had a cheeseburger that’s where we went and it was so good and it’s so close by…

imagesYou get the rest. We both ordered Bacon double cheeseburgers and we shared a large order of fries and a large coke. I might have accidentally ordered a cheese dog too just to cover all the bases. We got our food and grabbed a table in the front window and after That Redhead took her first bite and said “OMG” she did a Happy Dance. Yep. A Happy Dance. She held her cheeseburger up in the air, jiggled her shoulders, wiggled her whole body and said “Yay!” out loud. I said “Yay” on the inside because I finally got my cheeseburger on a weekday. About half way through our meal I paused and said “Thank you for making the everyday things in life so joyful…” I was even a little choked up while I said it. You see it’s pretty easy to have a good time on Caribbean vacations, epic nights out at Studio Paris, steak and crab legs meals, NFL games and the many like things we get to do in our fantastic lives. But to find Happy Dance level joy on a Thursday afternoon at 2:00 p.m. while eating a cheeseburger? That is one of Christiana’s special skills. Another reason why I love her so well.

So on this Thanksgiving Day of the countless and many things I’m grateful for, I’m especially grateful for my new wife and for all the Happy Dance level joy she brings to the routine parts of my life. I’m also grateful for occasional cheeseburgers. Wishing you all a joyous and blessed holiday!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

