Vinyl

About a month ago I entered into a casual chat with a friend and co-worker who has a deep collection of old vinyl records and swears by listening to music the old fashioned unnamedway. I mentioned to him that I had a lot of old records still both from my youth and my father’s days. I also mentioned that whenever my wife and I visited her recently deceased Grandmother in southern Illinois her uncle would pull out old vinyl and play it and it sounded so good. My buddy from work suggested that I buy a turntable and resurrect some of my old albums. It planted a seed that was lying dormant for a while and then tonight on my way home when I stopped at my storage locker to pick up the Christmas decorations I noticed a box with a bunch of my old vinyl.

As I looked through the box I saw albums that hadn’t been played for 30 years and in some cases even 50 years when it came to some of my Dad’s collection. After I left the storage locker I buzzed by the Best Buy in my neighborhood and went in to see if they sold any reasonably priced turntables. They only had two models one of which that hooked up to an Ipod docking station which somehow seemed wrong to me. The other one was a basic Sony for $99 that seemed to be crying out my name. I bought it and came home with a handful of old albums and a bunch of boxes of Christmas Decorations.

Needless to say I had one of my best nights in recent memory!!! I hooked up the turntable to my Bose Wave Radio (the merger of old school and modern technology in the best possible way) and then carefully selected my first spin. I chose side 4 of Bee Gees Live in unnamed-1Los Angeles in December of 1976. In order “Winds of Change”, “Nights on Broadway”, “Jive Talkin” and “Lonely Days” filled my apartment with a sound as if the Bee Gees themselves were camped out at the Roosevelt Collection building 36 years after the fact. It was truly amazing and quite moving in so many ways!

Over the rest of the night I enjoyed a mix of rich sounds spinning from Flock of Seagulls, Van Halen, The Jackson Five and my favorite was from an old Calypso group called The Sounds of Martin Denny a 1950’s Hawaii based big band group of which my Dad must have had every record album they ever recorded. Progress is nice, technology is good, but somehow this return to the classics seemed to be just what the doctor ordered for me in a time of reflection and I think a new hobby was just born. For a night at least and hopefully many more in the future a quiet night at home with some vinyl and a turntable could be about as good as it gets…

unnamed-2

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

