Sunshine Restaurant on Kedzie

This morning we went to yoga and had a date with a lonely cat. It’s true. My thoughtful wife had agreed to visit her good friend’s cat a few times while they were on their honeymoon and I knew she was excited to be cat sitting even if it was on the opposite end of the city. I was less enthusiastic but very happy that she was thoughtful enough to help good friends that I too like very much.

unnamed-9After we left our yoga class I said to her, “So what’s the plan? Visit the cat and get some food for us or vice-versa?” She said she had noticed a little breakfast place up by our friend’s house that might be worth trying so we set out towards The Sunshine Restaurant at 3523 N. Kedzie. As we pulled into the small parking area I had my suspicions. A guy in a van cut me off and took the last parking spot in the tiny lot. Nothing about the exterior spoke to me about food service sanitation but my wife and her good judge of energy and instinct still felt good about the place so we took a chance and went in.

It couldn’t have been more of a joint and it couldn’t have been any better. We looked over a menu of breakfast items and sandwiches with nothing over $5.95. Yelp reviews were mostly positive and said that the same husband and wife team were the cook and waitress for many years. I had a Greek omelette and gyros and CJ had a skillet breakfast with corned beef hash of special quality. Towards the end of our meal one of the few people in the restaurant got up and started arguing about his bill. He said that they were three people and that at $5 a person it couldn’t be $35. I guess he forgot he had that he had three kids with him and that they had beverages and tax and that he was drunk and twitching. The owner/waitress could not have been any more graceful as she went over the math of the check with him. She was truly soft spoken and polite even in the wake of his obscenities and anger.

After he left she came over and apologized to us for his behavior and negative energy. I told her she couldn’t have been more kind and less confrontational. We found out her name was Vicky and that they had owned the place for 47 years. About the same time a young Hispanic couple walked in with a plate covered in aluminum foil and gave it to Vicky. They didn’t stay for breakfast but only dropped off the plate and said that their Mom sent her love. That was pretty much all I needed to know to confirm that this was a special place. A place of family and neighborhood and history.

unnamed-8The mad guy said to her that he’s never coming back and even yelled at a non-resposive store front as he cursed and drove away with his unfortunate wife and three kids in their car. We will on the other hand come back. It was one of the best Greek omelette’s I’d ever had with the best fresh spinach and feta cheese. In fact as I told Vicky we will drive out of our way across the city to some back as soon as humanly possible. These places are few and far between and oh so unique and valuable!

And then in the end we got to visit with the cutest little cat at our friend’s house. She couldn’t have been more delighted to have the company and our morning was just about perfect at that point. I bet not many people could have had such a perfect morning as we were lucky enough to have. I guess if you have good friends and you trust your gut the possibilities are endless!!!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

