Jim Bob…Bob Jim…Whatever? Olympics…America…Suck It!!!

Only my wife will truly understand the title to this little blog post. And frankly I don’t give a damn! I’ll get a chuckle out of it and hopefully so will she. It’s double entendre perfection in the best way and I’ll move on the the real story of this post without delay…

I went to yoga tonight in a snowstorm. Nothing news shattering about that. We have had plenty of snow this winter and I have taken plenty of yoga classes. Probably four a five classes a week without exception. The teacher recognized me. I had taken one of her first ever classes a few months back. Somehow she was told that I was a “senior” teacher so she asked me for some feedback after that class. I love giving feedback. About halfway through tonight’s class I heard her say, “Nice job Bob!” A moment later I realized I was the only male in the class. I guess at that point I became Bob in the moment. I could have corrected her but to what point? After class she said, “So do you have any new feedback for me Bob?” I gave her a big thumbs up and a few minor pointers and went on with my night.

imagesCJ and I have watched a lot of the olympics this last ten days. We are both olympic junkies and it’s so wonderful to have the chance to share the the joy of what’s good about the olympics with someone who just gets it! Maybe this is a little weird but I’d have to say that in a way my favorite moment of the Sochi Winter Olympics 2014 happened tonight when I got home at about 8 p.m. and fired up my DVR to start watching my recording of the day’s events. I’ve gotten used to a different kind of olympics this time around. The weather in Sochi is oh so not winter game’s like. The American team while sound has not yet provided its normal dose of drama and human interest. But in many ways more than anything else I have missed the presence of an olympic icon at the helm in the likes of Bob Costas. Tuning in to Matt Lauer and a collection of substitutes hasn’t totally diminished my always childlike joy of the event, but there was something that was just missing.

In my lifetime I have remembered two people who were as synonymous with the games as the athletes themselves and those two people are Jim McKay and Bob Costas. As a youth I would tune in every four years and always hear the welcoming voice of Jim McKay carry us through the drama and joy and anguish. Then in 1994 for the first time we had the opportunity to tune in every two years as the summer and winter games were then staggered. I can’t remember which year it was that Jim McKay moved to the cameo role as the late night recap host before he passed and Bob Costas took over the lead, but suffice it to say I have known no olympics in my lifetime that did not include one or both of them…until this past week when pink eye took my memories to a place I would rather not have ever 0210_munich-olympics-e1392041927123-624x442been. I remember in 1972 when I was a mere 8 years old as Jim McKay went from sports anchor to news anchor during the terrorist and hostage crisis with the Israeli athletes. I think I might have had chicken pox and watched on a black and white TV in my childhood bedroom. I remember the exact place I was in when Al Michaels made the call, “Do you believe in miracles? Yes!” I remember the night that Kerri Strug landed her vault on an injured ankle while Bela Karolyi cheered her on and carried her off. What can I say? I’m a sap and I love the human drama.

I also love the roots and the tradition. I am comfortable with things that I know and as a Cancerian I love the comfort of my own shell. Stability is a source of my contentment! So tonight when I tuned in for day day 11 of the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics I couldn’t have been more content to hear the familiar voice of Bob Costas chime in over the familiar Bugler’s Dream theme music to preview the night’s coverage.

On a night I had been called a “Bob” and remembered  a “Jim” I couldn’t be more honored to see and hear a familiar Bob and be a happy Jim…

Simple things in life make everything feel right. Tonight in the midst of many other transitions pretty much everything feels right for a moment in time…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jim Bob…Bob Jim…Whatever? Olympics…America…Suck It!!!

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    You are definitely not a Bob or Rod or Clint or Sam -you are a great Jim-so stick with it and tell the senior teacher your real nomenclature. Diane

Leave a Reply

