50 Years, 15 Homes and Full Circle Return Within 3 Miles…

I have been on this planet for approaching 50 years. To my count I have had 15 places I have called home. It all started at 5701 N. Sheridan on Chicago’s north side when I was unnamed-7born to James and Charlene Herbert who then resided in the Hollywood Towers apartment complex. I have only a few photos of my life there at my disposal but suffice it to say that this one captures my joy for life at that innocent age and it was a very appropriate and very urban start to my life path and that in so many ways it has come full circle in a special and telling way.

From my early beginnings I then moved to Northbrook, Illinois and then to Farmington Hills, Michigan and I spent the first 18 years of my life at only three residences that I would call home before I cast myself off into the great unknown of college and a life that would find me at many other homes over the years but none quite as comfortable as my current place to rest my head which is in the Roosevelt Collection at 1136 S. Delano Ct. in the South Loop neighborhood of Chicago.

I found the South Loop in 1990 when my first wife and I had started a search for our first home in Chicago as we moved here to start her law school adventure and our lives together in a place that was “Oh so not Detroit!” How funny is it then that I have since found a soft spot in my heart for the place I abandoned almost 25 years ago. I wish I could return to Detroit. If there was a chance? A way of life? An income? A safe haven? I would be there in a minute! But here I am in Chicago almost 25 years after that moment and still thriving and growing and learning. I couldn’t be more grateful!

For the better part of 25 years, nearly half of my life on this planet, I have resided within 6 blocks of the corner of Roosevelt and State Street in the South Loop. That is all on the verge of a very soon and substantial change! My awesome now wife and I have just completed a month long journey of figuring out what is next for us and it seems that the energy is leading us to the northwest side to a neighborhood that is classified by Chicago Maps as Northpark. I’m excited and a little bit scared. My Cancerian need to have a comfortable and familiar shell is being challenged, but in a good way. I am learning to be comfortable outside my comfort zone and I couldn’t be more grateful for the confidence moving forward.

I have a good friend and co-worker that this morning underwent a kidney transplant surgery to sustain his life without dialysis when all goes well. Did I mention that the gift kidney came from another co-worker who has a wife and two kids and is the sole wage earner in his home? Makes me think that changing shells is a pretty insignificant thing to deal with in the grand scheme in comparison. I’m excited to tell more about the other 12 homes that I have enjoyed in my history, the other 32 years and all the changes and how it came down to 3 miles…but for now I am going to enjoy being in the moment and thinking about what the next chapter looks like. I think it will look like a park, a yard and a tree lined street. Part two soon…

Feeling oh so grateful!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

